awards and honors

Awards and honors

Award for teachers in primary schools

To promote chemistry in general education at elementary schools, the
€ 1,000 and donated by Merck KGaA, Darmstadt. Since 2009, it has been awarded to primary school teachers who have distinguished themselves through special achievements in strengthening the scientific and technical parts of general studies, in particular the chemistry-related parts, at primary schools.

awardee 2022: Mr. Bernhard Lanz

List of winners (pdf.file, 52 KB)

Friedrich Stromeyer Award

The prize, endowed with €3,000 and donated by Merck KGaA, Darmstadt, is intended to promote chemistry lessons. Since 1982, it has been awarded to teachers who have distinguished themselves through special achievements in the field of chemistry teaching in schools.

awardee 2022: Mr. StD Martin Schwab

List of winners (pdf.file, 57 KB)

Manfred and Wolfgang Flad Award

The €4,000 prize donated by the Dr. Flad, is awarded for particularly successful experimental lectures at annual conferences of the Division, for the experimental development of a specialist area with regard to training, teaching and teaching or for the development of a new type of experiment for chemical education . The prize has been awarded annually since 2017.

awardee 2022: StR Stephan Matussek

List of winners (pdf.file, 57 KB)

Heinrich Roessler Award

The prize, endowed with €4,000 and the Heinrich Roessler Medal and donated by Degussa AG, today Evonik Industries AG, Essen, has been awarded to a personality from school, university, industry or public life for special services to chemical education since 1984. The prize is named after Degussa's first technical director, who made pioneering achievements in the field of scientific education and vocational training in the 19th century. The prize is awarded every two years.

Winner 2022: Mrs. Dr. Ilona Siehr

List of winners (pdf.file, 54 KB)

honorary members of the Division

The GDCh Division for chemical education has awarded honorary membership to the personalities listed below, who have been involved in the Division in an outstanding manner since it was founded in 1971 and have thus rendered outstanding services to chemistry didactics and chemical education :

List of honorary members (pdf.file, 219 KB)

Previous prices of the Division

Hans Herloff Inhoffen Prize

Donated by the Schering Foundation
The prize was awarded in 2005 and 2007 to young European researchers who were in the process of academic qualification, already in their qualification phase - e. B. PhD or habilitation - had completed or reached a first professional position.

List of winners (pdf.file, 14 KB)

Johann Friedrich Gmelin Prize

Donated by Wiley-VCH, Weinheim
The prize was awarded from 1984 to 2003 to young people who have worked to improve chemistry lessons.

List of winners (pdf.file, 15 KB)


Annual Meeting 2023
04. - 06.09.2023
in Leipzig


Heinz Schmidkunz Prize

GDCh high school diploma award

Here you can find out

GDCh final price

Here you can find out


Education, Career and Science Department Tel: +49 69 7917-326

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 23.01.2023 09:29 H from Translator