Division Award

Division Award prize for analytical chemistry

The Division of Analytical Chemistry of the German Chemical Society (GDCh) honors outstanding and independent achievements by dedicated and talented scientists who are at the beginning of their scientific Career with the Analytical Chemistry Division Award Prize. The prize is usually awarded every two years as part of ANAKON and comes with an award certificate and prize money of 2000 euros. All members of the Division are entitled to nominate candidates. The Board of the Division decides on the award of the prize.

The price is currently not advertised.

Division Award for analytical chemistry 2023

The Division Award for analytical chemistry was awarded to Prof. Dr. Nicole Strittmatter awarded:

" In recognition of her excellent, original and pioneering research work in the field of imaging mass spectrometry. With her impressive instrumental and methodical work on rapid evaporative ionization mass spectrometry, Professor Strittmatter was able to distinguish bacteria based on their spectral fingerprint. Her developments in the field of imaging with desorption "Electrospray ionization mass spectrometry led to completely new applications in pharmacy , among other things by increasing sample throughput and sample stability. In addition, Professor Strittmatter developed imaging methods of mass cytometry to determine the drug distribution in dendrimer nanoparticles with a new metal label. Her very interdisciplinary work with many Cooperation partners are published in numerous publications in leading journals of analytical chemistry and life sciences and are regularly cited."

Division Award for analytical chemistry 2022

The Division Award of the Division of Analytical Chemistry was awarded to Ass.-Prof. dr David Classes awarded:

"In recognition of his outstanding, original and pioneering research work in the field of single-cell and single-nanoparticle analysis using inductively coupled plasma mass spectrometry (ICP-MS). Here, Professor Clases was able to optimize equipment and methods, but especially by developing and improving software tools for the evaluation of large amounts of data, have made significant contributions that have significantly expanded the current state of research in single particle and single cell analysis.Professor Clases also developed in the fields of element speciation analysis and element bioimaging powerful new analytical methods and applied them to current biomedical and environmental scientific issues. His work has been published in numerous publications in the leading journals in our field."

Fachgruppenpreis Analytische Chemie 2019

Übergabe des Fachgruppenpreises durch Dr. Joachim Richert (links), Vor­sitzender der GDCh-Fachgruppe Analytische Chemie, an Dr. Björn Meermann (rechts). Die Verleihung erfolgte im Rahmen der ANAKON 2019 in Münster.
(Foto: WWU Münster)

Division Award for analytical chemistry 2001ff

Locations refer to the institution at the time of the award ceremony.


Prof. Dr. Nicole Strittmatter, Munich


Ass.-Prof. dr David Classes, Graz

2019 dr Björn Meermann, Koblenz
2017 Prof. Dr. Kevin Pagel, Berlin
2015 dr Romana Schirhagl, Groningen /NL
2013 dr Carolin Huhn, Julich
2011 dr Nina Kaeppel, Ludwigshafen

dr Carsten Engelhard, Bloomington/USA

2007 dr Heiko Hayen, Dortmund
dr Thomas Letzel, Munich

dr Christian Temme, Geesthacht/NL


dr Mag. Herbert Franz Oberacher, Saarbrücken
dr Oliver Trapp, Tubingen

2001 dr Steffen Friedrich, Dresden
dr Ulrich Engel, Frankfurt

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 18.04.2023 18:23 H from C.Kniep