Clemens-Winkler Medal

Clemens-Winkler Medal of the GDCh Division of Analytical Chemistry

The Division of Analytical Chemistry of the German Chemical Society (GDCh) usually awards the Clemens-Winkler Medal for analytical chemistry every two years as part of ANAKON to individuals who, through their years of commitment, have made a difference in scientific development and the promotion and recognition of analytical have earned chemistry. The award comes with a certificate and a gold medal. All members of the Division are entitled to nominate candidates. The Division Board board decides on the award of the prize.

The price is currently not advertised.

Clemens-Winkler Medal for Analytical Chemistry 2022

The Clemens-Winkler Medal for Analytical Chemistry was presented to Prof. Dr. Irene Nehls awarded.

"Her scientific work was characterized by a broad and much-noticed trace analysis of polyaromatics to organotin compounds. The first reference materials she developed for the Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing attracted international attention. Irene Nehls contributed to environmental-analytical and food-chemical issues in the analysis of brominated flame retardants and mycotoxins. Her name is national, but above all in Europe, linked to the standardization and regulation in the field of soil analysis. Irene Nehls was extraordinarily committed to analytical chemistry, initially in the GDR, after the reunification, in a merging of the Federal Institute and Humboldt University. For many years she worked on the Board of the Division of the Analytical Chemistry department and organized the ANAKON in Berlin. In addition to innovative university teaching teaching, she enriched the training of many students and doctoral candidates with a series of summer schools on the subject a quality assurance."

Clemens-Winkler Medal for Analytical Chemistry 2019

"Professor Dr. Reinhard Nießner is one of the most successful and committed representatives of analytical chemistry in Germany. From 1986 to 1989 he researched and taught with a C2 professorship at the University of Dortmund, and from 1989 until his retirement in 2017 with a C4 -Professorship at the Technical University of Munich. During this time he also held guest professorships in Austria, Japan, Singapore and Hong Kong. With his work on aerosol and exhaust gas analysis, photoacoustics or micro-array chip-based test systems, including their practical implementation, has he has set significant impulses worldwide.With over 200 diploma and master theses, over 160 accompanied dissertations and support of 6 habilitation candidates, he is co-founder of a "Munich School of Analytical Chemistry".

Thanks to his scientific work, which includes well over 600 publications and over 30 patent applications, Reinhard Nießner is one of the most productive analysts in the world. With his factual and profound knowledge, he was always a sought-after expert, also by politicians and the media public. Reinhard Niessner has been awardee the Heinrich Emmanuel Merck Prize, the Smoluchowski Prize for Aerosol Research, the Fritz Pregl Medal of the Austrian Society for Analytical Chemistry, the Fresenius Award for Analytical Chemistry of the GDCh and the Hanns Malissa Lecture Award .

As the first European associate editor of the journal "Analytical Chemistry", he has advanced analytical chemistry in Germany in many ways. In addition, he has been a committed member of the Division since 1984 and a long-time author of trend reports Analytical Chemistry in the Chemical Nachrichten aus der Chemie.

By awarding the Clemens-Winkler Medal to Prof. Reinhard Nießner, the Division of Division of Analytical Chemistry recognizes not only his outstanding scientific achievements, but also his passionate commitment to the field of analytical chemistry. In recognition of these achievements, the Division of Analytical Chemistry of the German Chemical Society awards Professor Dr. Reinhard Nießner the Clemens-Winkler Medal 2019."

Clemens-Winkler Medal for Analytical Chemistry 1998ff


Prof. Dr. Irene Nehls, Berlin

2019 Prof. Dr. Reinhard Niessner, Munich
2017 Prof. Dr. Karlheinz Ballschmiter, Ulm
2015 Prof. Dr. Günter Gauglitz, Tubingen
2013 Prof. Dr. Otto W. Wolfbeis, Graz / Austria
2012 dr Ernst Heiner Korte, Dortmund
2011 Prof. Dr. Reiner Salzer, Dresden
2010 Prof. Dr. Rudolf E. Kaiser, Bad Durkheim

Prof. Dr. Werner Engewald, Leipzig


Prof. Dr. dr hc Adolf Zschunke, Leipzig

2007 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Klaus K. Unger, Mainz
2006 Prof. Dr. Bernhard Welz, Florianópolis SC / Brazil
2005 Prof. Dr. Klaus Gustav Heumann, Mainz
2003 Prof. Dr. Georg Alexander Hoyer, Berlin
2002 Prof. Dr. Heinz Engelhardt, Saarbrucken
2000 Prof. Dr. Bernhard Schrader, Essen
1998 Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Fresenius, Wiesbaden

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 18.01.2024 13:55 H from C.Kniep