Albert-Weller Award

Albert-Weller Award of the GDCh Division of Photochemistry

Albert Weller (1922-1996)

In honor of Albert Weller (1922-1996), the GDCh Division of Photochemistry , together with the German Bunsen Society for Physical Chemistry, usually awards the Albert-Weller Award for an outstanding dissertation in the field of photochemistry / spectroscopy every two years . The award is intended for young academics up to a maximum of two years after their doctorate and is combined with an award certificate and prize money of 1,000 euros. Usually, the handover takes place on the occasion of the annual meeting of the Division of Photochemistry , which takes place in even years, and the awardee winner is invited to present the award-winning work in a scientific lecture . A panel of experts made up of members from both societies will decide on the award of the prize. The prize can be shared.

The price is currently not advertised.

Albert-Weller Award 2022

On the occasion of the 28th Lecture Conference on Photochemistry in Düsseldorf, the Division of Photochemistry of the German Chemical Society and the German Bunsen Society for Physical Chemistry awarded the Albert-Weller Award 2022 to Dr. Caroline Mueller and Dr. Felix Strieth-Kalthoff.

The award will be given to Dr. Carolin Müller awarded "in recognition of her outstanding dissertation entitled "Towards Operando Spectroscopy of Supramolecular Photocatalysts -" prepared in the working group of Prof. Dr. Benjamin Dietzek-Ivanšić at the Friedrich Schiller University Jena and the Leibniz Institute for Photonic Technologies. A Case Study on Ru-dppz-derived Systems". As part of her dissertation, Dr. Müller succeeded in taking important steps on the way to an operando sub-ps time-resolved transient absorption spectroscopy and thus to the processes occurring in molecular photocatalysts after light excitation In doing so, Dr. Müller was able to characterize the photophysics of extremely short-lived reaction intermediates during the course of photocatalytic hydrogen evolution and thus to obtain information about the reaction mechanism and possible deactivation paths of the molecular photocatalysts that influence the efficiency and stability of the systems".

The award will be given to Dr. Strieth-Kalthoff awarded "in recognition of his outstanding dissertation entitled "Systematic and computer-aided methods for the discovery and development of chemical reactions", prepared in the working group of Prof. Dr. Frank Glorius at the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster ". The dissertation shows in an impressive The way in which methods of organic synthesis, combinatorial chemistry, time-resolved spectroscopy and quantum chemistry can be used to discover novel photocatalytic reactions and to investigate and understand their molecular mechanisms With newly discovered reactivities based on triplet-triplet energy transfer processes, Mr. Strieth-Kalthoff demonstrates how the knowledge gained can be used for the design of improved catalysts and synthetic transformations.Thus, this dissertation makes an important contribution to the development of photocatalysis with visible light to a milder, broadly applicable and thus more sustainable strategy for the synthesis of complex organic molecules".

Albert-Weller Award 2020

Dr. Michael Peter Kathan

On the occasion of the virtual 27th Lecture Conference on Photochemistry, the Photochemistry Division of Photochemistry of the German Chemical Society and the German Bunsen Society for Physical Chemistry award the Albert-Weller Award 2020, donated by ATTO-TEC GmbH, to Dr. Michael Peter Kathan and Dr. Yusen Luo.

The award will be given to Dr. Kathan awarded in recognition of his outstanding dissertation entitled: "Photoswitching Reactivity - From Remote-Controlled to Light-Driven Chemical Systems". The award winner's impressive work deals with the fundamental question of photochemical control of thermal equilibria. Dr. Kathan has developed creative approaches to optically control and drive condensation-hydrolysis equilibria using photoswitches. By creatively coupling photoinduced 6 electrocyclization and thermal keto-enol tautomerism, he was able to remotely control both living polymerization processes and dynamic covalent imine Make or break bonds against their equilibrium position, i.e. quasi uphill. His work has significant application potential for self-healing materials, for example in sensors and for solar recycling of polymers. The dissertation was carried out in the working group of Prof. Dr. S tefan Hecht at the Humboldt University in Berlin.

The prize is awarded to Dr. Luo to recognize her outstanding doctoral thesis, entitled: “Photoinduced Electron Transfer Dynamics in Ruthenium(II) Bis(terpyridine) Based Molecular Dyads and Triads”. dr Luo studied the photoinduced electron-transfer dynamics in covalently linked molecular dyads and triads as model systems for molecular photoredox catalysts. Using model systems comprising a Ru-terpyridin-based photosensitizer, a fullerene acceptor and a phenothiazine donor, Dr. Luo could obtain novel insights into the mechanisms of photodriven electron transfer. Resorting on temperature-dependent ultrafast time-resolved transient absorption spectroscopy, Dr. Luo experimentally demonstrated novel effects, eg investigating the impact of a formally spectator ligand on the electronic coupling between photosensitizer and electron donor. Such “remote control” of electron transfer has been speculated about but has never been demonstrated experimentally before.

Albert-Weller Award 1999ff

Division of Photochemistry and German Bunsen Society for Physical Chemistry

Year award location Surname institute
2022 Dusseldorf dr Caroline Mueller
dr Felix Strieth-Kalthoff

Friedrich Schiller University Jena
Westphalian Wilhelms University in Munster

2020 Online lecture conference dr Michael Peter Kathan
dr Yusen Luo

Humboldt University of Berlin
Friedrich Schiller University Jena

2018 no award
2016 Jena dr Dominik Bucher
dr Martin Herder
LMU Munich
Humboldt University of Berlin
2014 Cologne dr Catherine Rottger
dr Maria Wachtler

University of Kiel
University of Jena

2010 gain dr Tobias Nils Wassermann University of Goettingen
2008 Bielefeld dr Philip Zacharias University of Cologne
2007 Cologne dr Anton Granzhan
dr Manuela Schiek

University of Siegen
University of Oldenburg

2005 Jena dr Christopher David Muller University of Cologne
2003 Mülheim ad Ruhr dr Robert Huber
dr Uwe Pischel
LMU Munich
2001 Wuerzburg dr Wojciech Macyk
dr Tobias Steinel

University of Erlangen-Nuremberg
University of Goettingen

1999 Munich dr Peter Gilch LMU Munich

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 16.06.2023 15:05 H from C.Kniep