Awards & Honors

PhD Award award of the GDCh Division of Sustainable Chemistry

The Division of Sustainable Chemistry , supported by Evonik Industries AG, awards a prize every two years for the best doctoral thesis in the field of sustainable chemistry. The award is combined with an award certificate and prize money of 2000 euros. The prize is usually awarded in even years during the annual Divisions conference. A panel of experts appointed by the Division Board board decides on the award of the award. The prize can be shared.

The price is currently not advertised.

PhD Award for sustainable chemistry 2022

The PhD Award 2022 of the GDCh Division of Sustainable Chemistry was awarded to Dr. Joel B. Mensah and Dr. Ruth D. Rittinghaus on December 1, 2022 on the occasion of the "Sustainable Chemistry Online Symposium 2022".

dr Joel B. Mensah: Awarded in honor of his dissertation entitled Chemo-Catalytic and Electrochemical Deoxygenation of Bio-Derivable 3-Hydroxydecanoic Acid - Production of Drop-In Fuels and Fine Chemicals. " Dr. Mensah's doctorate demonstrates in a special way the interdisciplinary development of new value chains for sustainable fuels and fine chemicals starting from biomass. The focus was on the conversion of biotechnologically efficient accessible 3-hydroxy fatty acid esters (HAAs). Mr. Mensah succeeded in demonstrating both an efficient chemocatalytic and a direct electrochemical process in order to selectively produce either pure hydrocarbons, secondary alcohols or an oxygenate mixture starting from 3-HDS. The work impressively builds a bridge from biotechnology to chemical and electrocatalysis to internal combustion engines along the entire value chain."

dr Ruth Rittinghaus: awarded in honor of her dissertation entitled "Iron Guanidine Complexes as Polymerization Catalysts for ROP and ATRP". " As part of her dissertation, Dr. Rittinghaus dealt with biocompatible catalysts for the ring-opening polymerization of renewable lactones to form bioplastics. She not only succeeded in beating the previous industrial, toxic standard in terms of the rate of polymerization. Dr. Rittinghaus also demonstrated very successfully through copolymerization experiments that their iron-guanidine catalysts catalyze both multimechanistic polymerizations and precisely control the microarchitecture of the resulting copolymers. They shows that intelligent catalyst design opens up completely new avenues for sustainable polymer chemistry and will open up new fields of application for tailor-made bioplastics. She has already published four publications in high-ranking journals as first author."

PhD Award for sustainable chemistry 2020

Dr. Kelechukwu N. Onwukamike
Dr. Steffen Tröger-Müller

The 2020 PhD Award from the GDCh Division of Sustainable Chemistry was awarded to Dr. Kelechukwu N. Onwukamike and Dr. Steffen Tröger-Müller awarded.

Dr. Kelechukwu N. Onwukamike: "In appreciation of his dissertation entitled “Sustainable Cellulose Solubilization, Regeneration and Derivatization in a DBU-CO2 Switchable Solvent System”. Dr. Onwukamike investigated the modification of renewable raw materials in his thesis. By using switchable ionic liquids , he achieved a homogeneous modification of cellulose for the first time. He was able to render solubilization of the cellulose much more sustainable, and he obtained novel materials with promising properties. Dr. Onwukamike's thesis is characterized by excellent science and convinces due to high degrees of diversity and interdisciplinarity. His work is clearly oriented towards sustainable chemistry. Dr. Onwukamike also succeeded in publishing five articles in high-ranking journals as the first author during his doctoral period. The thesis work was conducted in the framework of a European Horizon 2020 project, mainly in the working group of Prof. Dr. MAR Meier at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, but also at the University of Bordeaux."

Dr. Steffen Tröger-Müller: "In recognition of his dissertation entitled "Truly Sustainable Imidazolium Ionics". As part of his dissertation, Dr. Tröger-Müller dealt with the development of sustainable energy storage. He succeeded in producing imidazolium compounds from environmentally friendly starting materials to synthesize and test their applicability, for example in membranes. Dr. Tröger-Müller not only dealt with the scientific, scientific and technical facets of sustainability, but also includes the social dimension and builds a bridge between them Chemistry as a science towards the great task for society as a whole of bringing our lifestyle into harmony with the planetary boundaries. Within the surprisingly short doctorate period of two and a half years, he has already published four articles in high-ranking journals as the first author. The dissertation was written in the working group of Dr. Clemens Liedel made at the Max Planck Institute for Colloids and Interfaces in Golm."

PhD Award for sustainable chemistry 2012ff


dr Joel B. Mensah, Aachen

dr Ruth D.Rittinghaus, Aachen


dr Kelechukwu N. Onwukamike, Karlsruhe/Bordeaux

dr Steffen Tröger-Müller, Golm

dr Thomas Seidensticker, Dortmund


dr Johannes Huwer, Saarbrucken


dr Josef C. Meier, Dusseldorf


dr Hatice Mutlu, Karlsruhe

Wöhler Award 2019

During the GDCh Science Forum Chemistry 2019, the Wöhler Award for sustainable chemistry of the GDCh was presented to Prof. Dr. Dieter Vogt.

Photo (from left to right): R. Palkovits, D. Vogt, M. Urmann
(Photo: GDCh / Christian Augustin, Hamburg)

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 20.09.2023 14:24 H from C.Kniep