Joint Working Group Chemical Biology

Joint Working Group Chemical Biology

Division website

The clarification and influencing of molecular and cell biological processes, including the functions and interactions of proteins, by means of chemical tools (e.g. low molecular weight substances) is the central task of chemical biology. The following four companies


  • Society for Chemical Technology and biotechnology eV (DECHEMA),
  • German Pharmaceutical Society (DPhG),
  • Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology eV (GBM) and
  • German Chemical Society eV (GDCh)

therefore founded the Joint Working Group Chemical Biology on May 10, 2005 during BioPerspectives 2005.

Board of Directors 2021-2024
Dr. Pierre Stallforth (Chair)
, HKI Jena
Prof. Dr. Maja Köhn (Deputy Chair), University of Freiburg
Dr. Franz von Nussbaum (Deputy Chairman), Nuvisan ICB GmbH Berlin
Prof. Dr. Christian Becker, University of Vienna
Prof. Dr. Felix Hausch, TU Darmstadt
Prof. Dr. Ute Hellmich, FSU Jena
Prof. Dr. Olalla Vázquez, University of Marburg
Prof. Dr. Oliver Werz, University of Jena
Prof. Dr. Ludger Wessjohann, IPB Halle

Membership: The joint Division is open to all members of the societies without additional membership fees. GDCh members simply fill out the application for personal membership (electronically fillable PDF) and send it to the GDCh member service.

The Joint Working Group Chemical Biology is not a Division within the meaning of the GDCh statutes.


Dr. Karsten Schürrle
Tel. +49 69 7564-162

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 27.08.2021 17:29 H from M.Sakarya