Richard Willstätter Lecture

Richard Willstätter Lecture

For the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, the GDCh set up the Richard Willstätter Lecture, to which Israeli scientists are invited from the HUJ to Germany and vice versa German scientists to the HUJ. So far it is the only name lecture with a facility outside of Europe. The GDCh took over the financing.

The German professor Richard Martin Willstätter was a pioneer in his field. For the first time, he succeeded in completely elucidating the constitution and synthesis of the natural substance cocaine. He also worked intensively on naturally occurring pigments such as chlorophyll, hemoglobin and anthocyanins. For this outstanding work, Willstätter received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1915. In 1924 and 1925, Willstätter was President of the German Chemical Society, the predecessor organization of today's GDCh.

Excellent people so far

2022 - Peter H. Seeberger, MPI for Colloids and Interfaces, Potsdam

Professor Peter H. Seeberger and his working group are researching sugar-based vaccines, for example against malaria. It is thanks to him that oligosaccharides can be synthesized automatically, which is a major milestone for further research.

More information about Professor Seeberger

2020 - Dmitri Gelman, Jerusalem / Israel

Professor Dmitri Gelman is an organic chemist at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel. Gelman studies the interaction between the structure and reactivity of organometallic compounds. He has set his focus in the area of the pincer complexes. He researches these as catalysts for hydrogen transfer reactions and for dehydrogenation reactions of formic acid and hydrogenation of CO 2.

More information on Professor Dmitri Gelman

Lecturer since 1993


Peter H. Seeberger, MPI for Colloids and Interfaces, Potsdam


Dmitri Gelman, Jerusalem/Israel

2013 Klaus Meerholz, University of Cologne
2011 Edith Y. Tshuva, Jerusalem/Israel
2010 Henning Hopf, Brunswick
2009 Shlomo Yitzchaik, Jerusalem/Israel
2008 Joachim Maier, Stuttgart
2006 Uri Banin, Jerusalem/Israel
2002 Reinhard W. Hoffmann, Marburg
1999 Daniel Mandler, Jerusalem/Israel
1997 Hans Juergen Neusser, Munich
1996 Itamar Willner, Jerusalem/Israel
1995 Klaus Müllen, Mainz
1994 Haim Levanon, Jerusalem/Israel
1993 Heinz A. Staab, Heidelberg

Commission for the Richard Willstätter Lecture

Prof. Dr. Lutz H. Gade, Ruprecht-Karls-University Heidelberg (lead management)
Prof. Dr. Lutz Ackermann, Georg-August University of Goettingen
Prof. Dr. Karola Rück-Braun, Technical University of Berlin
Prof. Dr. Swetlana Schauermann, Christian Albrechts University in Kiel

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 13.01.2023 09:29 H from Translator