Victor Grignard-Georg Wittig Lecture

Victor Grignard Georg Wittig Lecture

The Victor Grignard Georg Wittig Lecture is a collaboration between the German Chemical Society and the Société Chimique de France. Grignard and Wittig - both big names in chemistry, both Nobel Prize winners in chemistry.

Victor Grignard received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1912 together with Paul Sabatier for his discovery of the alkylmagnesium compounds, the Grignard compounds named after him. These compounds play a major role in organic chemistry. Georg Wittig, together with Herbert Charles Brown, received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1979 for his discovery of the Wittig reaction, which was named after him. This enables the synthesis of alkenes by reacting aldehydes or ketones with ylides.

The first Victor Grignard Georg Wittig Lecture took place in 1994. The awardee was Jean-Pierre Majoral from Toulouse in France. Since then, renowned chemists from Germany and France have regularly received awards.

Excellent people so far

2022 - Anne-Marie Caminade, Center National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), Toulouse/France

Prof. Dr. Anne-Marie Caminade, Center National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), Toulouse/France is active in the field of phosphorus dendrimers. This research area, initiated by Anne-Marie Caminade, has its main application areas in catalysis, materials science and biology/nanomedicine.

More information on Professor Anne-Marie Caminade

Speakers since 1994


Anne-Marie Caminade, National Centre for Scientific Research (CNRS), Toulouse/France
Lutz Ackermann, Georg-August University of Göttingen


Walter Leitner, RWTH Aachen University

2018 Paul Knochel, LMU Munich

Paolo Samorì, Strasbourg/France


Lutz Gade, Heidelberg

2015 Bruno Chaudret, Toulouse/France
2014 Matthias Beller, Rostock
2013 Mir Wais Hosseini, Strasbourg/France
2012 Klaus Müllen, Mainz
2011/2012 Michel Che, Paris/France
2010 Markus Antonietti, Potsdam

Samir Zard, Palaiseau/France

Martin Jansen/Stuttgart

2006 Carsten Bolm, Aachen
2005 Robert Corriu, Montpellier/France
2004 Herbert Roesky, Göttingen
2002 Charles Mioskowski, Strasbourg/France
2001 Pierre Dixneuf, Rennes/France
2000 Alois Fürstner, Mülheim/Ruhr
1999 Pierre Braunstein, Strasbourg/France

Igor BM Tkatchenko, Dijon/France

Herhard Wegner, Mainz


François Mathey, Palaiseau/France


Bernard P. Roques, Paris/France

Karl-Heinz Dötz, Bonn

1995 Michel Veith, Saarbrücken

Jean-Pierre Majoral, Toulouse/France

Commission of the Victor Grignard - Georg Wittig Lecture

Prof. Dr. Tanja Gaich, University of Konstanz (lead management)
Prof. Dr. Frank Glorius, Westphalian Wilhelms University in Munster
Prof. Dr. Ivan Huc, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich
Prof. Dr. Sabine Laschat, University of Stuttgart
Prof. Dr. Oliver Reiser, University of Regensburg

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 22.05.2024 11:59 H from Translator