Mario Markus Prize

Mario Markus Prize for Ludic Science


  • Field: Ludic Natural Sciences
  • Consists of: ?10,000, travel expenses, certificate
  • First awarded: 2022

“Ludic” is derived from the Latin word “ludens”, which means playing.

With its new Mario Markus Prize for Ludic Science, the GDCh wants to recognize a scientific work in the field of natural science that is “playful”. The term “playful” is used here to designate discoveries that arise from research that was undertaken not with any specific application in mind, but simply out of curiosity about the natural world.

More information about Ludic Science.

The work should have been published in a peer-reviewed journal in 2019 or later.

2023 award winner: Juliane Simmchen, TU Dresden and University of Strathclyde

The winner Juliane Simmchen received the Mario Markus Prize for her scientific work on biomimetic behavior in artificially produced active matter. The playful nature of the discovery is particularly clear in her publication "Apparent phototaxis enabled by Brownian motion" and is therefore honored.

To the publication

Prize-winning team 2022: Johann Ostmeyer, University of Liverpool, Christoph Schürmann, University of Bonn, and Carsten Urbach, University of Bonn

Christoph Schürmann, Dr.
Johann Ostmeyer und
Prof. Dr. Carsten Urbach (v.l.)
(Foto: Universität Bonn/
Gunar Peters)

The prize-winning team consisting of Dr. Johann Ostmeyer, Christoph Schürmann and Prof. Dr. Carsten Urbach received the Mario Markus Prize for their scientific work on the flight behavior of beer mats. The German Chemical Society honors outstanding scientific work with a playful character. The awardee convinced the jury with their unconventional approach and were honored on December 6, 2022 in Frankfurt am Main.

To the publication

Mario Markus

Prof. Dr. Mario Markus is the donor of the award. He grew up as a child of German parents in Chile, where he studied mathematics, biology, chemistry and physics at the Universidad de Chile in Santiago. In 1965, he continued his studies of mathematics and physics in Heidelberg, where he also received his doctorate in 1973. Prof. Markus did research at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysics in Frankfurt am Main in 1974 before he moved to the Max Planck Institute for Nutritional Physiology (now MPI for Molecular Physiology) in Dortmund in 1975 as a research associate in the department of biochemist and biophysicist Benno Hess. In 1988, he habilitated at the University of Dortmund, where he worked first as a Privatdozent and from 1997 as an associate professor. Prof. Markus has led his own research group at the MPI of Molecular Physiology since 1993.

More information about Mario Markus

Jury members

Prof. Dr. Kerstin Kremer, Justus Liebig University Gießen (Chair)
Prof. Dr. Barbara Albert, University Duisburg-Essen
Prof. Dr. Michael Schreckenberg, University of Duisburg-Essen
Dr. Juliane Simmchen, The University of Strathclyde/UK
Prof. Dr. Joachim Stolze, TU Dortmund University

Prof. Dr. Mario Markus, Dortmund (Founder)

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 06.05.2024 14:59 H from Translator