Wöhler Award for sustainable chemistry

Wöhler Award for Sustainable Chemistry


  • Subject: sustainable chemistry
  • Consists of: 7,500 euros, certificate
  • First awarded: 1998
  • Awarded in: Odd years

The price is currently advertised.

Required nomination documents: Short justification, CV and publication list with the top 10 publications
Deadline: 15 September 2024
Nomination form

Give chemistry a face. – Nominate.

The Wöhler Award for Sustainable Chemistry has its roots in the Chemical Society of the GDR, which awarded a prize named after Friedrich Wöhler from 1960 to 1991. In 1998 the GDCh resumed this award. The Wöhler Prize for Resource-Conserving Processes was awarded until 2011 for innovative research contracts on greater environmental compatibility, responsible use of existing or development of new resources. In 2012 the prize was renamed Wöhler Award for Sustainable Chemistry and is awarded for pioneering and outstanding contributions to the development and implementation of sustainable chemistry.

awardee 2023 - Klaus Kümmerer, Leuphana University Lüneburg

Professor Dr. Klaus Kümmerer has done groundbreaking work in sustainable chemistry. He has specialized in areas such as recyclable plastics, wastewater reuse and the end-of-life Management of solar systems. In addition, he introduced the concept of "Benign by Design" to reduce environmental impacts through targeted molecular design. His successes include the development of environmentally friendly ionic liquids and biodegradable antibiotics. In addition, he is committed to integrating sustainable topics into chemistry education.

More information about Professor Kümmerer

Distinguished people since 1998

2023 Klaus Kümmerer, Leuphana University of Lüneburg
2019 Dieter Vogt, Dortmund
2017 Konrad Hungerbühler, Zurich/Switzerland
2015 Matthias Beller, Rostock
2013 Bernhard Rieger, Munich
2012 Paul T. Anastas, New Haven, CT/USA

Holder of the Wöhler Prize for resource-saving processes

2011 Ferdi Schueth, Mülheim ad Ruhr
2009 Walter Leitner, Aachen
2007 Jürgen O. Metzger, Oldenburg

Torsten Groth, Leverkusen, Lanxess Deutschland GmbH
Winfried Joentgen, Wuppertal, Bayer HealthCare AG
Alfred Mitschker, Odenthal, formerly Bayer AG
Nikolaus Müller, Leverkusen, Lanxess Germany GmbH

2002 Christian Wandrey, Julich and Bonn

Karlheinz Hill, Düsseldorf, Cognis GmbH
Rainer Eskuchen, Düsseldorf, Cognis GmbH
Patrick M. McCurry, Cincinnati, Cognis GmbH

1998 Hans-Peter Rath, Ludwigshafen, BASF AG

Selection committee

Dr. Maximilian Hempel, German Federal Environmental Foundation (lead)
Prof. Dr. Michael AR Meier, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Prof. Dr. Peter Saling, BASF SE
Prof. Dr. Ferdi Schüth, Max Planck Institute for Coal Research
Prof. Dr. Jennifer Strunk, Technical University of Munich
Dr. Dorit Wolf, Evonik

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 08.07.2024 15:29 H from N/A