Albrecht-Kossel Award

Albrecht Kossel Prize


  • Subject: biochemistry
  • Consists of: 7,500 euros, certificate
  • First awarded: 2014
  • Awarded in: Even years

With the Albrecht Kossel Prize, the GDCh honors personalities who have done excellent work in the field of Biochemistry . The price was decided by the board of directors in December 2012. In 1910 Albrecht Kossel received the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine "in recognition of the contribution that his work on proteins, including nuclei, has made to our knowledge of the chemistry of the cell".

Current awardee: Andres Jäschke, University of Heidelberg

Foto: Sabine Arndt

Professor Andres Jäscke has been awarded the Albrecht-Kossel Award by the GDCh as an internationally outstanding researcher in the field of the chemical biology of nucleic acids. He has made groundbreaking contributions to the catalysis, regulation, modification and imaging of RNA.

More information about Professor Jäschke

Award winner interview 2020

Distinguished people since 2014

2022 Andres Jaescke, University of Heidelberg
2020 Marina Rodnina, Goettingen
2018 Annette Beck-Sickinger, Leipzig
2016 Johannes Buchner, Garching
2014 Roland Lill, Marburg

selection committee

Prof. Dr. Christian Hackenberger, Leibniz Research Institute for Molecular Pharmacology Berlin (lead management)
Prof. Dr. Annette Gabriele Beck-Sickinger, University of Leipzig
Prof. Dr. Mark Helm, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz
Prof. Dr. Kathrin Lang, ETH Zurich
Prof. Dr. Helma Wennemers, ETH Zurich

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 08.07.2024 15:29 H from N/A