Wilhelm Klemm Prize

Wilhelm Klemm Prize


  • Subject: Inorganic Chemistry
  • Consists of: 7,500 euros, gold medal, certificate
  • First awarded: 1985
  • Awarded in: Odd years

The price is currently advertised.

Required nomination documents: Short justification, CV and publication list with the top 10 publications
Deadline: 15 September 2024
Nomination form

Give chemistry a face. – Nominate.

The Wilhelm Klemm Prize is awarded to outstanding chemists in the field of inorganic chemistry. The prize was donated by Degussa AG, Frankfurt am Main in 1984 and has been financed by the GDCh since 1996. Wilhelm Klemm was an important inorganic chemist. The elements Klemm was most interested in are ytterbium, nickel, cesium, germanium and fluorine. The element symbols are stamped on the medal.

awardee 2023 - Michael Ruck, TU Dresden

professor dr Michael Ruck is being honored for his wide-ranging and conceptually unusual work, which is based on classical inorganic solid-state chemistry and is constantly evolving. His pioneering contributions range from synthesis and structural characterization to nanomaterials and coordination compounds, and also include the discovery of the fibrous modification of the element phosphorus, known as Ruck's phosphorus.

More information about Professor Ruck

Distinguished people since 1985

2019 Wolfgang Bensch, Kiel
2017 Hamsjörg Grützmacher, Zurich/Switzerland
2015 Thomas Fassler, Munich
2013 Manfred Scheer, Regensburg
2011 Ferdi Schueth, Mühlheim ad Ruhr
2009 Michael Veith, Saarbrucken
2007 Wolfgang Schnick, Munich
2005 Heinrich Vahrenkamp, Freiburg
2003 Gunter Schmid, Essen
2001 Konrad Seppelt, Berlin
2000 Karl Wieghardt, Mühlheim ad Ruhr
1999 Welf Bronger, Aachen
1997 Bernt Krebs, Munster
1995 Wolfgang A. Herrmann, Munich
1993 Dieter, Fenske, Karlsruhe
1991 Hanskarl Müller-Buschbaum, Kiel
1989 Kurt Dehnicke, Marburg
1987 Hans Bock, Frankfurt am Main
1985 Arndt Simon, Stuttgart

Selection committee

Prof. Dr. Bettina Valeska Lotsch, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research (lead)
Prof. Dr. Stefanie Dehnen, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Prof. Dr. Christian Limberg, Humboldt University of Berlin
Prof. Dr. Nils Metzler-Nolte, Ruhr University Bochum
Maximilian Pohle, JCF Jena
Dr. Kerstin Schierle-Arndt, BASF SE

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 08.02.2024 09:29 H from Translator