Hans R. Jenemann Foundation

Hans R. Jenemann Foundation

Hans R. Jenemann (1920 - 1996), chemist at Schott Glaswerke in Mainz, became known for his contributions to the history of scientific equipment, especially historical scales. Paul Bunge (1839 - 1888) set new standards as a precision mechanic and engineer in the construction of scales. He was the first to construct sample scales, the basis for organic microanalysis.

Paul Bunge Prize

The Paul Bunge Prize of the Hans R. Jenemann Foundation, established in 1992, is awarded jointly by the GDCh and the German Bunsen Society for physical chemistry (DBG) for work on the history of scientific instruments. The award takes place annually, alternately at DBG general meetings and lecture conferences of the GDCh Division of History of Chemistry.

The prize is advertised publicly and internationally. Everyone is eligible to nominate. Self-applications are permitted. The Jenemann Foundation can also award sponsorship prizes for young scientists and support activities that are in line with the foundation's objectives.

Awarded the Paul Bunge Prize

1993 Klaus Hentschel, Goettingen
Mara Miniati, Florence/Italy
1994 Matthias Dorries, Munich
Heinz Otto Sibum, Cambridge/England
1995 Gerard L`Estrange Turner, Oxford/England
1996 David A. King, Frankfurt/Main
Stuart M. Feffer, Aberdeen/USA
1997 Silvio A. Bedini, Washington DC/USA
1998 Robert Bud, London/England
Deborah Jean Warner, Washington DC/USA
1999 Nicolas Rasmussen, Sydney/Australia
2000 Alan Q. Morton, London/England
Richard J. Sorrenson, Bloomington/USA
2001 Jim Bennett, Oxford/England
2002 Paolo Brenni, Mendrisio/Switzerland and Florence/Italy
2003 Jean F. Johnston, Dumfries/Great Britain
2004 Jobst Broelmann, Munich
Carsten Reinhardt, Regensburg
2005 Myles W. Jackson, Salem, OR/USA
2006 Inge Keil, Augsburg
Davis Baird, Columbia, SC/USA
2007 Charlotte Bigg, Berlin
2008 Alison Morrison-Low, Edinburgh/Great Britain
2009 Jutta Schikore, Bloomington, Indiana/USA
2010 Henning Schmidgen, Berlin
2011 Matteo Valleriani, Berlin
2012 David Pantalony, Ottawa/Canada
2013 Marco Beretta, Bologna/Italy
2014 Cyrus Mody, Houston/USA
2015 Brian Gee, Leicester/UK (posthumously, ? 2009)
2016 Robert Anderson, Cambridge/UK
2017 Simon Schaffer, Cambridge/UK
2018 Anthony Turner, Le Mesnill le Roi/F
2019 Sara Schechner, Harvard, Cambridge/USA
2020 Simon Werrett, London/UK
2021 Liba Taub, Cambridge/UK

Matthew L. Jones, Columbia University, New York/USA

Foundation Advisory Board

Dr. Charlotte BIGG, Paris (Chair)
Prof. Helmuth TRISCHLER, Munich (German Museum)
Prof. Henning HOPF, Braunschweig (Former President)
Prof. Jürgen JANEK, Giessen (DBG representative)


Jasmin Herr
Varrentrappstr. 40 - 42
60486 Frankfurt aM
+49 69 7917 323


This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 13.02.2023 08:59 H from Translator