Horst Pracejus Prize

Horst Pracejus Prize


  • Subject: chirality
  • Consists of: 7,500 euros, certificate
  • First awarded: 1999
  • Awarded in: Odd years

The Horst Pracejus Prize is awarded to scientists for outstanding work in the field of enantioselectivity or chirality. The GDCh created the award in 1997. The namesake Pracejus was known for his research in the field of chiral catalysis and Head of the Catalysis Research Institute in Rostock. This was a branch of the Central Institute for Organic Chemistry of the GDR Academy of Sciences.

Prize winner 2019 - Albrecht Berkessel, Cologne

The GDCh awarded Professor Albrecht Berkessel the Horst Pracejus Prize in recognition of his diverse and outstanding contributions
for enantioselective synthesis, especially for his pioneering work in the characterization of important intermediates in carbene catalysis and the asymmetric epoxidation of terminal olefins.

More information on Professor Berkessel

Distinguished people since 1999

2019 Albrecht Berkessel, Cologne
2017 Thorsten Bach, Munich
2015 Dean Toste, Berkeley/USA
2013 Benjamin List, Mühlheim ad Ruhr
2011 Uwe Meierhenrich, Nice/France
2009 Hans-Ulrich Blaser, Basel/Switzerland
2007 Henri B. Kagan, Paris/France
2005 John M. Brown, Oxford/UK
2003 Andreas Pfaltz, Basel/Switzerland
2001 Günter Helmchen, Heidelberg
1999 Henri Bruner, Regensburg

selection committee

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Bach, Technical University of Munich (lead management)
Prof. Dr. Albrecht Berkessel, University of Cologne
Prof. Dr. Olga Garcia Mancheno, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster
Prof. Dr. René Peters, University of Stuttgart
Prof. Dr. Christoph Schneider, University of Leipzig

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 18.05.2022 14:59 H from N/A