August Wilhelm von Hofmann Commemorative Coin

August Wilhelm von Hofmann Commemorative Medal


  • Field: Special merits of foreign chemists
  • Consists of: Gold medal, certificate
  • First awarded: 1903
  • Awarded in: Even years

The GDCh awards the August Wilhelm Hofmann Commemorative Medal for special services in chemistry to foreign chemists or to German personalities who are not chemists but have achieved great things for chemistry. The prize has a long tradition and was already established in 1902 by the predecessor company, the German Chemical Society. She remembers with AW v. Hofmann (1818-1892). He was the founder and longtime President of the German Chemical Society and had previously worked successfully in England for 20 years. There, too, he was President of the Chemical Society.

Current awardee: David A. Leigh

Professor Dr. David A. Leigh, University of Manchester, UK, is the awardee of the August Wilhelm von Hofmann Memorial Medal 2024. The GDCh recognizes Leigh's pioneering achievements in the field of nanoscience, including the development of artificial molecular machines and molecular knots and the introduction of innovative concepts for controlling molecular motion.

More information about Professor Leigh

Award winner interviews

Distinguished persons since 1903


David A. Leigh, University of Manchester, UK


Paul T. Anastas, Yale University, New Haven/USA

John C. Warner, Warner Babcock Institute for Green Chemistry, Wilmington/USA

2020 Omar Yaghi, Berkeley CA/USA
2018 Michael Grätzel, Lausanne/Switzerland
2016 Ben Feringa, Groningen/Netherlands
2014 Barry Trost, Stanford/USA

Sason Shaik, Jerusalem/Israel

Martin Quack, Zurich/Switzerland

2010 Chintamani NR Rao, Bangalore/India
2008 Kyriacos C. Nicolaou, La Lolla/USA
2006 François Diederich, Zurich/Switzerland

Robert H. Grubbs, Pasadena/USA

Richard R. Schrock, Cambridge/USA

2003 Dieter Seebach, Zurich/Switzerland
2001 Steven V. Ley, Cambridge/UK
1999 Lord Jack Lewis of Newnham, Cambridge/UK
1997 Charles Weissman, Zurich/Switzerland
1995 Joshua Jortner, Tel Aviv/Israel
1992 Sir Alan R. Battersby, Cambridge/UK
1991 Henri B. Kagan, Sorbonne/France
1988 Jack Halpern, Chicago/USA
1985 George C. Pimentel, Berkeley/USA
1983 David Ginsburg, Haifa/Israel
1981 Tetsuo Nozoe, Sendai/Japan
1978 Paul Hagenmüller, Boreaux/France
1976 Albert Eschenmoser, Zurich/Switzerland
1974 Edgar Heilbronner, Basel/Switzerland
1970 Costin D. Nenitzescu, Bucharest/Romania

Viktor N. Kondratiev, Moscow/Russia

Sir Lawrence Bragg, London/UK

Vladimir Prelog, Zurich/Switzerland

1964 Edgar Lederer. Gif-sur-Yvette/France

Paul D. Bartlett, Cambridge/USA

William von Eggers-Doering, New Haven/USA

1957 Sir Robert Robinson, Oxford/UK
1955 Arne WK Tiselius, Uppsala/Sweden

Roger Adams, Urbana/USA

Emilio Segré, Berkeley/USA

awardee of the German Chemical Society


Adolf Butenandt, Berlin

Paul Walden, Rostock


Gustav Komppa, Helsinki/Finland

Hermann Rein, Göttingen


Max Samec, Ljubljana/Slovenia

Géza Zemplén, Budapest/Hungary

1939 Albert Szent-Györgyi, Budapest/Hungary

Giovanni Battista Bonino, Bologna/Italy

Pierre Jolibois, Paris/France

1937 Franz Fischer, Mühlheim am Ruhr
1936 Max Bodenstein, Berlin
1927 Franz Oppenheim, Berlin
1924 Bernhard Lepsius, Berlin
1921 Carl Duisberg, Leverkusen
1906 Sir William Henry Perkin, London/UK

Henri Moissan, Paris/France

Sir William Ramsay, London/UK

Selection Committee

Prof. Dr. Thomas Fässler, Technical University of Munich (lead)
Prof. Dr. Detlev Belder, University of Leipzig
Prof. Dr. Holger Braunschweig, Julius-Maximilians-University Würzburg
Prof. Dr. Ruth Maria Gschwind, University of Regensburg
Prof. Dr. Beate Paulus, Free University of Berlin
Prof. Dr. Peter R. Schreiner, Justus Liebig University Gießen

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 19.06.2024 09:59 H from Translator