Emil Fischer Medal

Emil Fischer Medal


  • Subject: organic chemistry
  • Consists of: 7,500 euros, gold medal, certificate
  • First awarded: 1912
  • Awarded in: Even years

The GDCh awards the Emil Fischer Medal for outstanding performance in the field of organic chemistry. The award was donated by Carl Duisberg in 1912 on the occasion of Emil Fischer's 60th birthday and was initially financed by the Carl Duisberg Foundation and later from a special fund of the GDCh. Emil Fischer was one of the most important chemists of his time and received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1902 for his sugar and purine work.

Current awardee: Peter Seeberger, Potsdam

Professor Peter Seeberger received the Emil Fischer Medal in recognition of his pioneering contributions to the synthesis and chemical biology of carbohydrates, in particular through the development of automated methods. His work enables the elucidation of the basic mechanisms of the interaction of glycans with other biomolecules and has thus decisively influenced the development of carbohydrate-based vaccines and materials.

More information on Professor Seeberger

Prize winner 2018 - Thorsten Bach, Munich

Bild: M. Jooss /

Professor Thorsten Bach received the Emil Fischer Medal in recognition of his pioneering contributions to the development and application of new synthetic methods, in particular through research results in enantioselective organic photosynthesis and photocatalysis. His work has found important applications in natural product synthesis, the preparation of new complex heterocycles, and medicinal chemistry, and has decisively influenced these areas.

More information on Professor Bach

Distinguished people since 1912

2020 Peter Seeberger, Potsdam
2018 Thorsten Bach, Munich
2016 Dirk Trauner, Munich
2014 Matthias Beller, Rostock
2012 Herbert Waldmann, Dortmund
2010 Johann Mulzer, Vienna
2008 Peter Hofmann, Heidelberg
2006 Bernd Giese, Basel/Switzerland
2004 Lutz Friedjan Tietze, Gottingen
2002 Dieter Enders, Aachen
2000 Horst Kunz, Mainz
1997 Horst Kessler, Munich
1995 Richard R. Schmidt, Constance
1992 Ivar Ugi, Munich
1990 Ekkehard Winterfeldt, Hanover
1988 Rolf Geiger, Frankfurt a. M
1986 Wolfgang Steglich, Bonn
1984 Gerhard Quinkert, Frankfurt a. M
1982 Herman Stetter, Aachen
1980 Hans Paulsen, Hamburg
1978 Hans Musso, Karlsruhe
1975 Emanuel Vogel, Cologne
1970 Günther Wilke, Mülheim ad Ruhr
1969 Theodor Wieland, Heidelberg
1967 Arthur Lüttringhaus, Freiburg
1966 Hellmut Bredereck, Stuttgart
1962 Otto Westphal, Freiburg

Hans Herloff Inhoffen, Brunswick
Friedrich Weygand, Munich

1960 Rudolf Criegee, Karlsruhe
1958 Walter Koenig, Dresden
1955 Hans-Heinrich Schlubach, Hamburg
1954 Hans Brockmann, Goettingen
1952 Karl Freudenberg, Heidelberg
1951 Burckhardthelferich, Bonn
1950 Hans Meerwein, Marburg

awardee of the Carl Duisberg Foundation

1940 Clemens Schöpf, Darmstadt
1938 Kurt Adler, Cologne

Gerhard Domagk, Wuppertal-Elberfeld
Josef Klarer, Wuppertal-Elberfeld

1935 Adolf Butenandt, Danzig

Hans Mauss, Wuppertal-Elberfeld
Fritz Mietsch, Wuppertal-Elberfeld

1933 Fritz Koegl, Utrecht/Netherlands
1931 Felix Ehrlich, Wroclaw

Kurt H. Meyer, Ludwigshafen
Herman Staudinger, Freiburg


Fritz Schönhöfer, Wuppertal-Elberfeld
Werner Schulemann, Wuppertal-Elberfeld
August Wingler, Leverkusen


Franz Fischer, Mülheim ad Ruhr
Alwin Mittasch, Mannheim

1922 Carl Neuberg, Berlin
1919 Otto Hahn, Berlin
1912 Fritz Hofmann, Breslau

selection committee

Prof. Dr. Albrecht Berkessel, University of Cologne (lead management Baeyer)
Prof. Dr. Bart Jan Ravoo, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster (lead management Fischer)
Prof. Dr. Anke Krüger, University of Stuttgart
Prof. Dr. Klaus Müllen, Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research
Prof. Dr. Tanja Weil, Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research
Prof. Dr. Frank Würthner, Julius Maximilian University of Würzburg

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 10.05.2021 14:49 H from J.Herr