Klaus Grohe Foundation

Klaus Grohe Foundation

The founder

The founder Prof. Dr. During his professional activity as a research chemist at Bayer AG, Klaus Grohe (* 1934) developed important innovative drugs with great success. In 2001, the couple Klaus and Eva Grohe set up the Klaus Grohe Foundation at the German Chemical Society , which aims to encourage highly qualified young people to turn to the demanding interdisciplinary field of medical chemistry / drug research.

The prize

The Klaus Grohe Prize has been awarded since 2020 to scientists who have made excellent work in researching new principles of drug research and whose research results make an important contribution to application. The prize is endowed with 50,000 euros and is awarded every two years.

Current awardee: Raphaël Rodriguez, Institut Curie, Paris/France

The Klaus Grohe Foundation honors Dr. Raphaël Rodriguez, Institut Curie, Paris/France, in recognition of his groundbreaking work at the interface of chemistry and biology. The foundation honors him in particular for combining preparative organic synthesis with molecular and cell biology and for advancing both chemistry and the understanding of biology at the molecular level to discover new therapeutic approaches.

More information about Raphaël Rodriguez

Excellent since 2020


Raphaël Rodriguez, Institut Curie, Paris/France

2020 Stepan A. Sieber, Technical University of Munich

The Klaus Grohe Foundation until 2019

Until 2019, outstanding work by young female scientists (doctoral students and postdoctoral students) at domestic and foreign (European) research institutions were honored with the Klaus Grohe Prize for Medicinal Chemistry/Active Ingredients Research. The first three “Klaus Grohe Prizes for Medicinal Chemistry” were awarded on September 20, 2004.

2004 Laurent Bialy, Southampton/Great Britain
Thilo J. Heckrodt, Berkeley/USA
Daniel Summerer, La Jolla/USA
2005 Frank Böckler, Erlangen-Nuremberg
Dirk Gottschling, Wuppertal
Sarah Ulmschneider, Ludwigshafen
2006 Carl Friedrich Nising, Cambridge/USA
Daniel B. Werz, Zurich/Switzerland
2007 Renata Marcia de Figueiredo, Aachen
Tanja Gulder, Würzburg
2008 Paul Wilhelm Elsinghorst, Bonn
Carsten Vock, Saarbrücken
2009 Andreas Koeberle, Tübingen
Stefan Wetzel, Dortmund
Georg Wuitschik, Cambridge/UK
2010 Henning Jacob Jessen, Basel
Timo Schmiederer, Berlin
Alexander Titz, Zurich
2011 Ralph Holl, Münster
Simon Lucas, Aachen
2012 Anke Roth, New Haven, CT/USA
Marco Schmidt, Cambridge/UK
2013 Bart ł omiej Krawczyk, Berlin
Rainer Wilcken, Cambridge/UK

Christian Kuttruff, Biberach adRiß
Björn Over, Mölndal/Sweden

2015 Jens Schmidt, Hamburg
Michael Wilsdorf, Berlin
Gunther Zimmermann, Dortmund
2016 Daniel T. Hog, Berlin
Nicole Nischan, Dallas, Texas/USA
Dietmar Weichert, Dublin, Ireland
2017 Tristan Gollnest, Hamburg
Cedric Hugelshofer, Berkeley, USA
2018 Mateja Klika Skopic, Dortmund
Matthias Schiedel, Oxford/GB

Philipp M. Cromm, Berlin,
Annabelle Hoegl, Frederiksborg/DK

Foundation Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Daniel Rauh, Technical University of Dortmund (Chair)
Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Altmann, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Dr. Yves Auberson, Novartis Institutes for BioMedical Research, Basel, Switzerland
Prof. Dr. Dorothea Fiedler, Leibniz Research Institute for Molecular Pharmacology, Berlin
Dr. Annika Jenmalm Jensen, SciLifeLab, Stockholm, Sweden
Prof. Dr. Stefan Knapp, Johann Wolfgang Goethe University
Dr. Raphaël Rodriguez, Institute Curie Paris, France
Prof. Dr. Stephan Sieber, Technical University of Munich


Dr. Jasmin Herr
Varrentrappstr. 40 - 42
60486 Frankfurt aM
Tel. +49 69 7917-323
Fax +49 69 7917-1323

Email: j.herr@gdch.de

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 25.06.2024 16:29 H from N/A