Christel and Herbert W. Roesky Foundation

Christel and Herbert W. Roesky Foundation

To promote science and research in the field of main group molecular chemistry, Professor Dr. hc mult. Herbert W. Roesky for himself and on behalf of his late wife Christel Roesky in 2021 die

Christel and Herbert W. Roesky Foundation.

The task of the foundation is the biennial award of the

Christel and Herbert W. Roesky Prize.

The founders

The founder Herbert W. Roesky has published numerous articles in the field of main group chemistry. His training as a chemist took place from 1957 to his doctorate in 1963 at the University of Göttingen. By completing a dairy apprenticeship prior to his studies, he had the opportunity to finance his chemistry studies in the first semesters. After a postdoctoral stay at Dupont in Wilmington, Delaware, he completed his habilitation at the University of Göttingen. Shortly after completing his habilitation, he was appointed to a full professorship at the University of Frankfurt am Main. After ten years in Frankfurt, he returned to the University of Göttingen on a call. In his research he was interested, among other things, in the area of main group elements. The focus was initially on the element fluorine and has shifted in the direction of silicon chemistry in recent years. He was very happy to hold experimental lectures in Frankfurt, Göttingen and 17 different countries. A number of popular books have been created based on these lectures.

The founder Christel Roesky was born in Stuttgart. She grew up in Aachen and Göttingen. After graduating from high school, she studied Spanish and French in Heidelberg, interrupted by a stay in Paris. She completed her studies with a diploma. She initially worked as an interpreter and translator and was most recently a foreign-language city guide in Göttingen. She had particularly specialized in urban and scientific history topics. She was also involved in the design of her husband's books and lectures.

The prize

The Christel and Herbert W. Roesky Foundation awards a prize worth 10,000 euros in the field of main group molecular chemistry every two years.

The award is given to people who have published groundbreaking scientific work in the field of molecular chemistry of main group elements. The work is said to have led to important and new scientific findings for the general public.

Nomination guidelines

Incoming nominations will be treated confidentially. The judges' decision is final. There is no entitlement to the award.

The deadline for nominations is April 30th in even years. The award takes place in odd years.

The following documents must be enclosed with the nominations:

  • Short cover letter
  • curriculum vitae
  • Publication list of the TOP 10 publications

The nominations must be submitted using the Online form

The Foundation Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Herbert W. Roesky, Göttingen (founder)
dr Rainer Roesky, Munich
Prof. Dr. Peter Roesky, Karlsruhe
Prof. Dr. Henning Hopf, Braunschweig (for the GDCh President)
Prof. Dr. Inke Siewert, Goettingen


Dr. Jasmin Herr
Varrentrappstr. 40 - 42
60486 Frankfurt aM
Tel. +49 69 7917-323
Fax +49 69 7917-1323


This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 11.08.2023 10:36 H from J.Herr