Adolf von Baeyer commemorative coin

Adolf von Baeyer commemorative medal


  • Subject: organic chemistry
  • Consists of: 7,500 euros, gold medal, certificate
  • First awarded: 1911
  • Awarded in: Odd years

The Adolf von Baeyer Commemorative Medal is awarded to scientists for outstanding work in the field of organic chemistry. The prize was donated by Carl Duisberg in 1910 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the lecturer and the 75th birthday of his teacher Adolf von Baeyer. The GDCh has been awarding this award since 1949. It was initially financed by Bayer AG and later by a special fund of the GDCh. The namesake Adolf von Baeyer is one of the most important chemists of his time and was honored with the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1905 for the synthesis of indigo and triphenylmethane dyes.

awardee 2023 - Rainer Herges, Christian-Albrechts-University in Kiel

Professor Rainer Herges is the awardee of the Adolf von Baeyer Medal 2023. He is honored for his outstanding and groundbreaking contributions to organic chemistry. His work has significantly shaped the discipline and is characterized by originality, fundamental research and international recognition. It covers a wide range of topics, from theory to synthesis to practical application. Thirty years ago he successfully developed methods using machine learning to predict new chemical transformations. Herges' ACID method for visualizing the density of delocalized electrons is also recognized worldwide. He also succeeded in producing the first molecule that can be switched magnetically at room temperature, which enables precise and spatially high-resolution temperature measurements, for example in magnetic resonance tomography.

More information about Professor Herges

Distinguished people since 1911


Rainer Herges, Christian Albrechts University in Kiel

2019 Frank Wuerthner, Wuerzburg
2017 Peter R. Schreiner, Gießen
2015 Carsten Bolm, Aachen
2013 Klaus Müllen, Mainz

François Diederich, Zurich/Switzerland

2009 Gerhard Erker, Munster
2007 Wolfram Sander, Bochum
2005 Armin de Meijere, Gottingen
2003 Fritz Voegtle, Bonn
2001 Dieter Hoppe, Munster
1999 Manfred Regitz, Kaiserslautern
1996 Henning Hopf, Brunswick
1994 Rolf Gleiter, Heidelberg
1991 Gunther Maier, Gießen
1989 Horst Prinzbach, Freiburg
1987 Wolfgang Kirmse, Bochum

Paul by Ragué Schleyer, Erlangen

1985 Wolfgang Richard Roth, Bochum
1983 Christoph Rüchardt, Freiburg
1980 Klaus Hafner, Darmstadt
1979 Heinz A. Staab, Heidelberg
1978 Rudolph Wiechert, Berlin
1975 Hans Albert Offe, Wuppertal-Elberfeld
1971 Eugen Müller, Tubingen
1968 Otto Scherer, Frankfurt a. M
1967 Siegfried Hünig, Wuerzburg
1965 Franz Sondheimer, Cambridge/UK
1963 Otto Roelen, Oberhausen-Holten
1961 John Eggert, Zurich/Switzerland

Erich Haack, Mannheim
Fritz Lindner, Frankfurt a. M
Heinrich Ruschig, Frankfurt a. M

1958 Paul Schlack, Frankfurt a. M
1957 Alfred Rieche, Berlin-Adlershof
1956 Gerhard Schrader, Wuppertal-Elberfeld
1955 Hermann OL Fischer, Berkeley/USA
1954 Arthur Zitscher, Offenbach a. M
1953 Georg Wittig, Tubingen
1952 Gustav Ehrhart, Frankfurt a. M
1951 Otto Bayer, Leverkusen
1949 Walter Reppe, Ludwigshafen

awardee of the Carl Duisberg Foundation

1934 Richard Kuhn, Heidelberg
1931 Otto Diels, Kiel
1929 Adolf Gruen, Grenzach
1927 Adolf Windaus, Goettingen
1925 Otto Heinrich Warburg, Berlin

Oscar Dressel, Bonn
Bernhard Heymann, Leverkusen
Richard Kothe, Leverkusen

1921 Max von Laue, Berlin

Wilhelm Connstein, Berlin
Karl Luecke, Berlin

1914 Richard Willstatter, Munich
1911 Paul Friedlaender, Darmstadt

Selection committee

Prof. Dr. Frank Würthner, Julius Maximilian University of Würzburg (lead)
Prof. Dr. Lutz Ackermann, Georg August University of Göttingen
Prof. Dr. Anke Krüger, University of Stuttgart
Dr. Carl Friedrich Nising, Bayer AG
Prof. Dr. Bart Jan Ravoo, Westphalian Wilhelms University of Münster
Prof. Dr. Tanja Weil, Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research


This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 08.02.2024 08:59 H from Translator