Gmelin-Beilstein Commemorative Medal

Gmelin-Beilstein Commemorative Medal


  • Subject: history of chemistry, chemistry information and chemical literature
  • Consists of: 7,500 euros, silver medal, certificate
  • First awarded: 1954
  • Awarded in: Even years

The Gmelin-Beilstein Memorial Medal is awarded by the GDCh to national and international personalities who have made special contributions to the History of Chemistry, chemical literature or chemical information. The prize was donated by Hoechst AG in 1954 and has been financed by the GDCh since 1996. The award commemorates Messrs. Leopold Gmelin and Friedrich Beilstein, who published the first handbooks on inorganic and organic chemistry in the 19th century.

Current winner: Eva E. Wille, Weinheim

Foto: R. Molz

The GDCh is honoring Dr. Eva E. Wille with the 2024 Gmelin-Beilstein commemorative coin . She will receive the award for her exceptional commitment to the promotion and further development of chemical literature. In particular, her successful promotion of chemical history literature and the classification of various areas of chemistry in a historical context, e.g. during the Nazi era, are recognized. The award is in recognition of her significant involvement in the founding and long-term promotion of Chemistry Europe, the association of 16 European chemical societies for the joint publication of chemical journals. The journals publish top international research and are a beacon for the excellence of chemical research in Germany, Europe and worldwide.

More information about Eva E. Wille

Distinguished people since 1954

2024 Eva E. Wille, Weinheim
2022 Gisbert Schneider, ETH Zurich/Switzerland
2020 Guillermo Restrepo, Leipzig
2018 René Deplanque, Lübeck
2016 Joe P. Richmond, Heidelberg
2014 Henning Hopf, Braunschweig
2012 Engelbert Zaß, Zurich/Switzerland
2010 Jürgen Gmehling, Oldenburg
2007 Olga Kennard, Cambridge/UK
2005 Ute Deichmann, Cologne and London/UK
2002 Ursula Schoch-Grübler, Ludwigshafen
2000 Peter Gölitz, Weinheim
1995 Christoph Meinel, Regensburg
1991 Johann Gasteiger, Munich
1990 Christian Weiske, Berlin
1988 Gerd M. Ahrenholz, Leverkusen
1987 Jürgen Schaafhausen, Bad Soden

Robert Fugmann, Frankfurt a. M.

Ernst Meyer, Ludwigshafen

1981 Fred A. Tate, Columbus/USA
1980 Margot Becke-Goehring, Frankfurt a. M.
1977 Günter Kresze, Munich
1976 Hans Rudolf Christen, Zurich/Switzerland
1973 Werner Schultheis, Frankfurt a. M.
1966 Eduard Kreuzhage, Weinheim
1965 Jean Baptiste Gillis, Ghent/Belgium
1962 Erich Pietsch, Frankfurt a. M.
1958 Wilhelm Foerst, Heidelberg
1956 Friedrich Richter, Frankfurt am Main

Paul Walden, Gammertingen

Maximilian Pflecke, Berlin

Selection committee

Dr. Vera Köster, Wiley-VCH Weinheim
Christine Nawa MA, Georg-August University Göttingen
Prof. Dr. Stefan M. Kast, Technical University of Dortmund
Dr. Nicola Oberbeckmann-Winter, Springer-Verlag GmbH
Prof. Dr. Achim Zielesny, Westphalian University

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 08.07.2024 15:29 H from N/A