Marianne Baudler Prize

Marianne Baudler Prize


  • Subject: Inorganic Chemistry
  • Consists of: 7,500 euros, certificate
  • First awarded: 1950
  • Awarded in: Even years

The Marianne Baudler Prize is awarded to chemists for outstanding scientific work in the field of inorganic chemistry. The chemistry professor Marianne Baudler was director of the Institute for Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Cologne and did research in the field of non-metals. She was particularly interested in phosphines and other compounds with at least one phosphorus-phosphorus bond.

At its meeting on March 4, 2022, the GDCh Board decided to no longer name the prize for inorganic chemistry, which was previously named after the chemist Alfred Stock (1876-1946), after Stock. The Board is thus following a recommendation from the "Prices 2.0" commission, which has dealt extensively with Alfred Stocks on behalf of the Executive Board. The chairman of the Division of History of Chemistry, Prof. Carsten Reinhardt, Univ. Bielefeld, added. With this measure, the Board and Commission emphasize the GDCh's clear stance against anti-Semitism and discrimination as well as a clear commitment to diversity and equal opportunities. A detailed justification can be found in issue 07/08 2022 of the Nachrichten aus der Chemie . On December 8, 2022, the GDCh Board decided to award the prize to the inorganic scientist Prof. Dr. to name Marianne Baudler.

Current awardee: Franc Meyer, Georg-August University of Göttingen

Professor Franc Meyer received the GDCh Prize for Inorganic Chemistry (today the Marianne Baudler Prize) for his outstanding achievements in the field of coordination chemistry in general and in particular for his pioneering work on controlling the electronic and magnetic communication of metals and their cooperation in small molecule activation through targeted ligand design. His research is characterized by the combination of innovative synthetic chemistry with a large variety of modern characterization methods and shapes the standards of coordination chemistry internationally.

More information about Professor Meyer

Award winner interview 2020

Distinguished people since 1950

2022 Franc Meyer, Georg-August University of Goettingen
2020 Stefanie Dehnen, Marburg
2018 Christian Limberg, Berlin
2016 Holger Braunschweig, Wuerzburg
2014 Wolfgang Kaim, Stuttgart
2012 Werner Uhl, Munster
2010 Matthias Driess, Berlin
2008 Michael Lappert, Brighton/UK
2006 Karl Otto Christe, Los Angeles CA/USA
2004 Hans Georg Schnöckel, Karlsruhe
2002 Peter Jutzi, Bielefeld
2000 Achim Mueller, Bielefeld
1998 Peter Paetzold, Aachen
1996 Martin Jansen, Bonn
1994 Otto J. Scherer, Kaiserslautern
1992 Gottfried Huttner, Heidelberg
1990 Herbert W. Roesky, Goettingen
1988 Helmut Werner, Wuerzburg
1986 Marianne Baudler, Cologne
1983 Eugene G. Rochow, Captiva/USA
1982 Hubert Schmidbaur, Munich
1981 Hans Georg von Schnering, Stuttgart
1979 Ulrich Wannagat, Brunswick
1976 Heinrich Noeth, Munich
1974 Rudolf Hoppe, Gießen
1972 Max Schmidt, Wuerzburg
1970 Gerhard Fritz, Karlsruhe
1967 Harald Schäfer, Munster
1964 Werner Fischer, Hanover
1963 Friedrich Seel, Saarbrucken
1961 Margot Becke-Goehring, Heidelberg
1959 Ernst Otto Fischer, Munich
1958 Rudolf Scholder, Karlsruhe
1956 Hermann Irving Schlesinger, Chicago/USA
1955 Ulrich Hofmann, Darmstadt
1954 Harry Julius Emeleu, Cambridge/UK
1953 Josef Goubeau, Stuttgart
1952 Robert Schwarz, Aachen
1951 Walter Hieber, Munich
1950 Egon Wiberg, Munich

Selection committee

Prof. Dr. Christian Limberg, Humboldt University of Berlin (lead)
Prof. Dr. Stefanie Dehnen, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Prof. Dr. Bettina Valeska Lotsch, Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research
Prof. Dr. Nils Metzler-Nolte, Ruhr University Bochum
Maximilian Pohle, JCF Jena
Dr. Kerstin Schierle-Arndt, BASF SE

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 08.02.2024 09:29 H from Translator