Arfvedson Schlenk Award

Arfvedson Schlenk Prize


  • Subject: lithium chemistry
  • Consists of: 7,500 euros, medal, certificate
  • First awarded: 1999
  • Awarded in: Odd years
  • Sponsored by: Albemarle Germany GmbH

The Arfvedson Schlenk Award is awarded to scientists for outstanding work in the field of lithium chemistry. In 1997 the prize was set up by Chemetall, Frankfurt am Main together with the GDCh. This was followed by sponsor Rockwood Lithium, which became Albemarle Germany GmbH, which now sponsors the award.

The Arfvedson Schlenk Award commemorates two outstanding researchers in the field of lithium chemistry: Johan August Arfvedson (1792 - 1841) discovered lithium in the mineral petalite for the first time in 1817. Lithium attained important scientific and industrial importance. Wilhelm Schlenk (1879 - 1943) worked in the field of free radicals and organometallic compounds and produced the first lithium organyls.

awardee 2023 - Thomas Fässler, TU Munich

Professor Thomas Fässler is honored for his pioneering research work in the field of lithium-rich intermetallic compounds. His work has the potential to advance the development of high-performance lithium batteries. Through systematic optimization, he achieved record values ​​in the Li-ion conductivity and gained valuable insights into the mechanism of lithium-ion conduction. The awardee has set international standards for the development of new, lithium-rich compounds and lithium-ion conductors and with this award the GDCh recognizes his important role in energy storage and technology.

More information about Professor Fässler

Prize winner 2021 - Eva Hevia, Bern

Prof. Eva Hevia is the winner of the Arfvedson Schlenk Prize 2021. She received the award in recognition of her outstanding research work at the interface between inorganic, organic and green chemistry, which has set important milestones in polar organometallic chemistry. She has shown in a remarkable way that important organolithium reactions can take place in air and moisture, whereby volatile organic solvents can be replaced by alternatives. Furthermore, she developed cooperative bimetallic methods for the selective functionalization of aromatics and heterocycles, which enabled the detection of unknown organometallic intermediates. Her work points the way to a practical and sustainable future of polar organometallic chemistry.

More information on Professor Hevia

Distinguished people since 1999


Thomas Fassler, Technical University of Munich

2021 Eva Hevia, Bern
2019 Martin Winter, Munster
2017 Jan Klett, Mainz
2015 Clare Grey, Cambridge/UK
2013 Robert E. Mulvey, Glasgow/UK
2011 Peter Bruce, St Andrews/UK
2009 Carsten Strohmann, Dortmund
2007 Hans J. Reich, Madison/USA
2005 Dietmar Stalke, Goettingen
2003 Victor Snieckus, Kingston/Canada
2001 Gernot Boche, Marburg
1999 Paul von Ragué Schleyer, Athens/Usa and Erlangen-Nuremberg

selection committee

The award is call for proposals in coordination with Albemarle. Three to four members from the GDCh and two Albemarle employees are appointed to the selection committee.

dr Theresa Schmidt, Albemarle (Lead)
Prof. Dr. Viktoria Däschlein-Gessner, Ruhr University Bochum
Prof. Dr. Stefan Kaskel, TU Dresden
Prof. Dr. Florian Kraus, Philipps University of Marburg
Prof. Dr. Eva Hevia, University of Bern
dr Ulrich Wietelmann, Albemarle

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 24.01.2024 13:55 H from J.Herr