Otto Hahn Award

Otto Hahn Prize


  • Subject: Special Merits
  • Consists of: 50,000 euros, gold medal, certificate
  • First awarded: 2005 (1955)
  • Awarded in: Odd years
  • Awarded jointly by: City of Frankfurt aM, DPG and GDCh

§2 statutes of the Otto Hahn Prize: purpose, fulfillment of purpose

"The award serves to promote science, especially in the fields of chemistry,

Physics and applied engineering

through the recognition of outstanding scientific achievements.

This is also connected with the intention of making the responsibility of science for society clear. "

The Otto Hahn Prize is jointly awarded every two years by the City of Frankfurt a. M., the German Physical Society (DPG) and the German Chemical Society (GDCh). The GDCh works together with the other member societies of the German Central Committee for Chemistry (DZfCh).

The prize has been awarded since 2005 and is a merger of the former Otto Hahn Award of the City of Frankfurt, the Otto Hahn Award for physics and Chemistry of the DPG and the GDCh, which was established in 1953.

Alternately, renowned people from physics and chemistry are honored with the prize. It is endowed with ?50,000, half of which is financed by the City of Frankfurt and one quarter each by the participating companies. The award ceremony will take place in Frankfurt's Pauls-Kirche.

awardee 2021 - Klaus Blaum, Heidelberg

Professor Klaus Blaum received the Otto Hahn Award 2021 for pioneering experiments and precision measurements in the field of particle, nuclear and atomic physics. With brilliant experimentation, creative ideas and the highest motivation of his team, he has repeatedly succeeded in achieving world records for accuracy in determining the properties of elementary building blocks of matter, such as the mass of the electron, the proton and the deuteron. His fundamental contributions contribute to expanding the limits of our knowledge and sharpen the criteria for the current physical world view.

More information on Professor Blaum

Distinguished people since 1955

2021 Klaus Blaum, Heidelberg physics
2019 Martin Jansen, Stuttgart chemistry
2017 Karsten Danzmann, Hanover physics
2015 Juergen Troe, Goettingen chemistry
2013 Ferenc Krausz, Munich physics
2011 Manfred Reetz, Mülheim ad Ruhr and Marburg chemistry
2009 Stefan Heil, Goettingen physics (Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2014)
2007 Gerhard Ertl, Berlin Chemistry (Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2007)
2005 Theodor W. Hänsch, Munich physics (Nobel Prize in physics 2005)

Winners of the Otto Hahn Award for Chemistry and physics

2003 Helmut Schwarz, Berlin
2000 Hans Christoph Wolf, Stuttgart
1998 Dieter Oesterheit, Martinsried
1989 Rudolf Hoppe, Gießen
1986 Heinz Painter-Leibnitz, Munich
1979 Rolf Huisgen, Munich
1974 Friedrich Hund, Goettingen
1967 Georg Wittig, Heidelberg
1965 Erich Hueckel, Marburg
1962 Manfred Eigen, Goettingen
1959 Hans Meerwein, Marburg

Lise Meitner, Stockholm/Sweden

Heinrich Wieland, Starnberg

Board of Trustees and Selection Committee

The awardee are selected by an eight-member board of trustees. Four members belong to the city of Frankfurt (mayor, head of the city council, head of cultural affairs, university president) and two each appoint the boards of GDCh and DPG.

A selection committee prepares a proposal for the Board of Trustees in advance:

Prof. Dr. Barbara Albert, University of Duisburg-Essen (board of trustees, lead management)
Prof. Dr. Joachim Sauer, Humboldt University of Berlin (Board of Trustees)
Prof. Dr. Benjamin List, MPI for Coal Research, Mülheim ad Ruhr
Prof. Dr. Frank Glorius, Westphalian Wilhelms University
Prof. Dr. Ralf Ludwig, University of Rostock
Prof. Dr. Maria Wächtler, Technical University of Kaiserslautern

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 27.04.2023 10:29 H from Translator