August Wilhelm von Hofmann commemorative coin

August Wilhelm von Hofmann commemorative coin


  • Subject: Special merits of foreign chemists
  • Consists of: gold medal, certificate
  • First awarded: 1903
  • Given in: even years

The price is currently advertised.

Nomination deadline: October 1st, 2021.

The current announcement of the GDCh prizes 2022 can be found here: German English

Submit your nomination here.

The GDCh awards the August-Wilhelm-Hofmann-Gedenkmünze for special merits in chemistry to foreign chemists or to German scientists who are not chemists but who have achieved great things for chemistry. The award has a long tradition and was established by the predecessor company, the German Chemical Society, in 1902. With AW v. Hofmann (1818-1892). He was the founder and long-time president of the German Chemical Society and previously worked successfully in England for 20 years. There, too, he was President of the Chemical Society.

Current awardee: Omar Yaghi, Berkeley CA / USA

Professor Omar Yaghi received the August Wilhelm von Hofmann Medal 2020 in recognition of his development of fundamentally new concepts of molecular architecture from crystalline reticular materials. Especially for highly porous organometallic coordination networks, which currently have the largest storage capacities for small molecules such as hydrogen, methane and carbon dioxide. The applications, including other reticular substance classes such as metal-free, covalently bound organic framework compounds, go far beyond gas storage and separation and are currently initiating disruptive developments in optics and organic electronics.

More information on Professor Yaghi

Prize winner 2018 - Michael Grätzel, Lausanne / Switzerland

Professor Michael Graetzel received the August Wilhelm von Hofmann Medal in recognition of his pioneering work in the fields of nano and Photochemistry. He developed dye-sensitive solar cells based on nanostructured titanium dioxide (?Grätzel cells?) and thus the first photo-electrochemical elements that achieved practically relevant efficiencies for converting light into electricity. This work also created the basis for later highly efficient perovskite-based cells. Michael Graetzel not only optimized the material chemistry of the crucial photoelectrochemical components, his work also had an impact on various fields such as photoelectrolysis, photosynthesis and battery research.

More information about Professor Graetzel

Prize winners since 1903

2020 Omar Yaghi, Berkeley CA / USA
2018 Michael Graetzel, Lausanne / Switzerland
2016 Ben Feringa, Groningen / Netherlands
2014 Barry Trost, Stanford / USA

Sason Shaik, Jerusalem / Israel

Martin Quack, Zurich / Switzerland

2010 Chintamani NR Rao, Bangalore / India
2008 Kyriacos C. Nicolaou, La Lolla / USA
2006 François Diederich, Zurich / Switzerland

Robert H. Grubbs, Pasadena / USA

Richard R. Schrock, Cambridge / USA

2003 Dieter Seebach, Zurich / Switzerland
2001 Steven V. Ley, Cambridge / UK
1999 Lord Jack Lewis of Newnham, Cambridge / UK
1997 Charles Weissman, Zurich / Switzerland
1995 Joshua Jortner, Tel Aviv / Israel
1992 Sir Alan R. Battersby, Cambridge / UK
1991 Henri B. Kagan, Sorbonne / France
1988 Jack Halpern, Chicago / USA
1985 George C. Pimentel, Berkeley / USA
1983 David Ginsburg, Haifa / Israel
1981 Tetsuo Nozoe, Sendai / Japan
1978 Paul Hagenmüller, Boreaux / France
1976 Albert Eschenmoser, Zurich / Switzerland
1974 Edgar Heilbronner, Basel / Switzerland
1970 Costin D. Nenitzescu, Bucharest / Romania

Viktor N. Kondratiev, Moscow / Russia

Sir Lawrence Bragg, London / UK

Vladimir Prelog, Zurich / Switzerland

1964 Edgar Lederer. Gif-sur-Yvette / France

Paul D. Bartlett, Cambridge / USA

William von Eggers-Doering, New Haven / USA

1957 Sir Robert Robinson, Oxford / UK
1955 Arne WK Tiselius, Uppsala / Sweden

Roger Adams, Urbana / USA

Emilio Segré, Berkeley / USA

Prize winner of the German Chemical Society


Adolf Butenandt, Berlin

Paul Walden, Rostock


Gustav Komppa, Helsinki / Finland

Hermann Rein, Göttingen


Max Samec, Ljubljana / Slovenia

Géza Zemplén, Budapest / Hungary

1939 Albert Szent-Györgyi, Budapest / Hungary

Giovanni Battista Bonino, Bologna / Italy

Pierre Jolibois, Paris / France

1937 Franz Fischer, Mühlheim ad Ruhr
1936 Max Bodenstein, Berlin
1927 Franz Oppenheim, Berlin
1924 Bernhard Lepsius, Berlin
1921 Carl Duisberg, Leverkusen
1906 Sir William Henry Perkin, London / UK

Henri Moissan, Paris / France

Sir William Ramsay, London / UK

Selection committee

Prof. Alois FÜRSTNER, Mülheim / R. (Lead management)
Prof. Detlev BELDER, Leipzig
Prof. Claudia FELSER, Dresden
Prof. Claudia WICKLEDER, Siegen
Prof. Ruth GSCHWIND, Regensburg
Prof. Thomas CARELL, LMU Munich

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 06.09.2021 15:59 H from