Wöhler BASF Young Talent Award

Wöhler-BASF Young Talent Award

The Wöhler-BASF Young Talent Prize is awarded to young scientists with a doctorate for outstanding, independent scientific work in the field of inorganic chemistry. This work is said to have been completed within the first six years since the start of independent research.

The prize is endowed with 5000 euros and is supported by BASF. It is advertised every two years and usually awarded during the lecture conference for inorganic chemistry.

The deadline for applications / proposals for the award in 2022 has expired.


Place and title at the time of award


Dr. Lutz Greb, Heidelberg

in recognition of his outstanding research on the influence of substituents on the reactive and structural nature of silicon (IV), aluminum (III) and germanium (IV) compounds and their detailed investigation using experimental and quantum chemical methods.

Dr. Wolfgang Zeier, Gießen

in recognition of his outstanding research on the influence of lattice dynamics on ion conductivity in solids and the associated contribution to the understanding and optimization of the transport processes in solid electrolytes.


Dr. Fabian Dielmann, Münster

in recognition of his outstanding research on the subject of "Extremely electron-rich phosphines for the activation of strong bonds and small molecules".


Dr. Ulf-Peter Apfel, Bochum

in recognition of his outstanding work in the field of bioinorganic chemistry, in particular on model systems for CO dehydrogenase and on hydrogen-generating enzymes.


Dr. Marc Walter, Braunschweig

in recognition of his outstanding work on iron and manganese half-sandwich compounds and their use in activating small molecules.


PD Dr. Florian Kraus, Munich

in recognition of his outstanding experimental work on the synthesis of the amine complexes of beryllium and uranium fluorides and on the function of the beryllium dication as a fluoride ion acceptor.


Dr. Jan J. Weigand, Münster,

in recognition of his work on the chemistry of novel, cationic phosphorus compounds that have interesting bonding relationships and great synthetic potential for activating small molecules


Dr. David Scheschkewitz, London,

in recognition of his work on the chemistry of phenylene-bridged disilenes, which show the way from the laboratory curiosity to the optically interesting material


PD Dr. Thomas Braun, Bielefeld,

in recognition of his work on hydroperoxo, silylperoxo and methylperoxo complexes of rhodium and their targeted decomposition


Dr. Stefanie Dehnen, Karlsruhe ,

in recognition of her work on the synthesis and DFT calculation of the first ternary metal selenide cluster anions of the p- and d-block metals as a new generation of molecular materials for optoelectronic and magnetic applications

Dr. Kai Carsten Hultzsch, Erlangen,

in recognition of his work on the development of the first chiral lanthanide complexes with biphenolate and binaphtholate ligands and their use as highly efficient catalysts for asymmetric hydroamination

The locations refer to the facilities at the time the prize was awarded.

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 06.05.2022 13:29 H from Translator