Awards & Honors

PhD Award GDCh Division of Sustainable Chemistry

The Division of Sustainable Chemistry , supported by Evonik Industries AG, awards a prize every two years for the best doctoral thesis in the field of sustainable chemistry. The award is combined with an award certificate and prize money of 2000 euros. The prize is usually awarded in even years during the annual Divisions conference. A panel of experts appointed by the Division Board board decides on the award of the award.

PhD Award award 2020

Dr. Kelechukwu N. Onwukamike
Dr. Steffen Tröger-Müller

The 2020 PhD Award award from the GDCh Division of Sustainable Chemistry, supported by Evonik Industries AG, was awarded to Dr. Kelechukwu N. Onwukamike and Dr. Steffen Tröger-Müller for your outstanding dissertations.

Awarded to Dr. Kelechukwu N. Onwukamike in recognition of his dissertation entitled "Sustainable Cellulose Solubilization, Regeneration and Derivatization in a DBU-CO2 Switchable Solvent System": Dr. Onwukamike investigated the modification of renewable raw materials in his thesis. By using switchable ionic liquids, he achieved a homogeneous modification of cellulose for the first time. He was able to render solubilization of the cellulose much more sustai-nable, and he obtained novel materials with promising properties. Dr. Onwukamike's thesis is characterized by excellent science and convinces due to high degrees of diversity and interdisciplinarity. His work is clearly oriented towards sustainable chemistry. Dr. Onwukamike also succeeded in publishing five articles in high-ranking journals as the first author during his doctoral period. The thesis work was conducted in the framework of a European Horizon 2020 project, mainly in the working group of Prof. Dr. MAR Meier at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, but also at the University of Bordeaux.

Awarded to Dr. Steffen Tröger-Müller in recognition of his dissertation entitled "Truly Sustainable Imidazolium Ionics": Dr. Tröger-Müller dealt with the development of sustainable energy storage systems as part of his dissertation. He succeeded in synthesizing imidazolium compounds from environmentally friendly starting materials and testing them for their applicability in membranes, for example. In doing so, Dr. Tröger-Müller not only with the scientific-technical facets of sustainability. Rather, it also includes the social dimension and builds a bridge from chemistry as a science to the great task of society as a whole, to bring our lifestyle in harmony with the planetary limits. Within the astonishingly short doctoral period of two and a half years, he has already published four articles in high-ranking journals as first author. The dissertation was carried out in the working group of Dr. Clemens Liedel at the Max Planck Institute for Colloids and Interfaces in Golm.

PhD Award award 2012ff


Dr. Kelechukwu N. Onwukamike, Karlsruhe / Bordeaux

Dr. Steffen Tröger-Müller, Golm

Dr. Thomas Seidensticker, Dortmund


Dr. Johannes Huwer, Saarbrücken


Dr. Josef C. Meier, Düsseldorf


Dr. Hatice Mutlu, Karlsruhe

Wöhler Prize 2019

The Wöhler Prize for sustainable chemistry is a GDCh award and was presented to Prof. Dr. Dieter Vogt awarded.
Photo (from left to right): R. Palkovits, D. Vogt, M. Urmann (Photo: GDCh / Christian Augustin, Hamburg)

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 27.04.2021 10:55 H from rkl