PhD Award

Doctoral award of the GDCh division Solid State Chemistry & Materials Research

The companies TANIOBIS (formerly: HC Starck Tantalum & Niobium) and HC Starck Tungsten alternately sponsor the award for the best doctoral thesis in the field of inorganic Solid-State Chemistry and Materials Research . The prize is awarded annually by the Solid State Chemistry & Materials division of the German Chemical Society (GDCh). The award includes an award certificate and prize money of 5000 euros.

PhD Award award 2021

The HC Starck Tungsten PhD Award award, donated by HC Starck Tungsten GmbH, for solid-state chemistry and materials research was presented to Dr. Lukas Mai and Dr. Philip Netzsch awarded.

Dr. Lukas Mai in recognition of his outstanding dissertation with the title: "Investigation of Amino-Alkyl Coordinated Complexes as New Precursor Class for Atomic Layer Deposition of Aluminum, Tin and Zinc Oxide Thin Films and their Application" for the pioneering contributions to the development of a new one Class of precursors for the deposition of atomic layers of binary metal oxides, especially aluminum oxide, at low temperatures. The dissertation was carried out in the working group of Prof. Dr. Anjana Devi at the Ruhr University Bochum.

Dr. Philip Netzsch in recognition of his outstanding dissertation with the title: "On Silicate-Analogous Materials - Synthesis and Characterization of Novel Borosulfates" for the pioneering contributions described therein to the systematic development of a large number of new borosulfates, the rationalization of synthetic access and the investigation of fascinating structures -Property relationships. The dissertation was carried out in the working group of Prof. Dr. Henning A. Höppe at the University of Augsburg.

PhD Award award 2020

The TANIOBIS PhD Award (formerly: HC Starck Tantalum & Niobium PhD Award Prize) for solid-state chemistry and materials research was given to OnlinePascal Cop awarded in recognition of his outstanding dissertation with the title: ?CeO 2 -based nanostructures as model catalysts for HCl oxidation?. Dr. Cop's creative, in-depth and future-oriented work on CeO 2 -based nanostructures represents excellent basic research and at the same time addresses a very topical and socially relevant topic, namely the maximization of the efficiency of chemical reactions, which, for example, enable efficient exhaust gas cleaning and are indispensable in large-scale industry. The HCl oxidation plays a very important role from an environmental point of view. Dr. Cop's investigations into the deactivation of the catalyst could in the future contribute to the optimization of catalyst materials for mass technologies and thus to the sustainability of various chemical processes. The dissertation was carried out in the working group of Prof. Dr. Bernd Smarsly at the Justus Liebig University in Gießen .

PhD award 2019

Prof. Dr. C. Felser, Dr. J. Meese-Marktscheffel,
Dr. H. Schwartz und Dr. S. Kloß (
Dr. S. Kloß und Dr. H. Schwartz

The HC Starck Tungsten PhD award 2019 for Solid-State Chemistry and Materials Research research was given in equal parts to Dr. Heidi Schwartz and Dr. Simon Kloß forgive.

Dr. Heidi Annemarie Schwartz received the award for her outstanding dissertation on the topic of "Metal-Organic Frameworks as Crystalline Porous Hosts for Photoactive Molecules" and for the pioneering work on structure-property relationships of organometallic framework compounds as crystalline, porous host structures for photoactive molecules.

Dr. Simon David Kloß was recognized for his outstanding dissertation on " The High-Pressure Metathesis Route for the Preparation of Rare-Earth and Transition Metal Nitridophosphates " and for the pioneering discoveries in the field of rare earth and transition metal nitridophosphates as well as for the development of a groundbreaking one new method of high pressure metathesis to open up new areas in nitridophosphate chemistry.

Doctoral prizes 1995ff

2020 Dr. Pascal Cop, Giessen
2019 Dr. Simon David Kloß, Munich
Dr. Heidi Annemarie Schwartz, Cologne
2018 Dr. Sebastian Bette, Freiberg
Dr. Chia-Chin Chen, Stuttgart
2016 Dr. Martin Heise, Dresden
Dr. Martin Oschatz, Dresden
2014 Dr. Pascal Hartmann, Giessen
Dr. Michael Schöneich, Selb
2012 Dr. Matthias Kellermeier, Constance
Dr. Saskia Stegmaier, Garching
2010 Dr. Bernhard Wahl, Dresden
2008 Dr. Florian M. Stadler, Munich
2006 Dr. Martin Wilkening, Hanover
2004 Dr. Stefan Schlueter, Bonn
2002 Dr. Anja Verena Mudring, Bonn
2000 Dr. Hubert Huppertz, Munich
Dr. Andreas Leineweber, Dortmund, and
Dr. Ulrich Steinbrener, Stuttgart
1997 Dr. Ingrid Denk, Stuttgart, and
Dr. Matthias Conrad, Marburg


Dr. Frank Thomas Lange, Karlsruhe, and
Dr. Claus Feldmann, Bonn

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 18.05.2022 18:29 H from Translator