PhD Award

PhD Award award from the GDCh Division of Medicinal Chemistry

Since 2013, the Division of Medicinal Chemistry of the German Chemical Society (GDCh) has been awarding up to three prizes each year for outstanding doctorates in the fields of medicinal and pharmaceutical chemistry. The award includes an award certificate, a prize money of 500 euros each, donated by the Division , and a short lecture on the award-winning work as part of the Divisions's annual conference "Frontiers in Medicinal Chemistry".

PhD Award Prize Medicinal / Pharmaceutical Chemistry 2021

Dr. Edith Bartole
Dr. Benedikt Heinrich
Dr. Dasha Nelidova

The Online PhD Award Conference was presented to Dr. Edith Bartole, Dr. Benedikt Heinrich and Dr. Dasha Nelidova awarded.

To Dr. Bartole in recognition of her dissertation with the topic: ?Design, Synthesis and Characterization of Molecular Tools for the Histamine H3 and H4 Receptors - In Particular Radio and Fluorescent Ligands?. Miss Dr. Bartole succeeded in developing and using two complementary tools for the study of histamine H4 receptors. Their fluorescent ligand and their high-affinity radioligand enable the localization of the hH4 receptor in living cells and, for the first time, comparative binding studies on h / m / rH4 receptors and on NanoLuc-labeled receptors (h / mH4R and hH3R). With her results and her tools, Dr. Bartole has significantly enriched the research field of H4 receptors. The dissertation was carried out in the working group of Prof. Dr. Armin Buschauer started at the University of Regensburg and after his death by Prof. Dr. Günther Bernhardt continues to look after.

To Dr. Heinrich in recognition of his dissertation on the topic: "Chemical Biology Applications of Photoresponsive DNA-Binding Agents". The outstanding work describes chemical alternatives to the well-known Green-Fluorescent Protein (GFP) which, with the new 6 TramTO 3 molecule, make it possible to observe, among other things, living multi-resistant bacteria such as Klebsiella pneumoniae. This work illustrates the innovative strength of new chemical methods and tools in the border area of medical chemistry and chemical biology and their direct applicability for a better understanding of infectious diseases. The dissertation was carried out in the working group of Jun.-Prof. Dr. Olalla Vázquez at the Philipps University of Marburg.

To Dr. Nelidova in recognition of her dissertation on the topic: "Restoring light sensitivity using tunable near-infrared sensors". In the thesis, nanotechnology and genetic engineering are combined in an innovative approach. By conjugating gold nanoparticles to antibodies that bind the TRP channel, light from the NIR range can be converted into signals of the TRP channel. These signals enable mice to perceive corresponding light signals. The work thus opens up a possible path to new therapeutic approaches for the treatment of macular degeneration. The dissertation was carried out in the working group of Prof. Dr. Botond Roska at the Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research and at the Institute of Molecular and Clinical Ophthalmology in Basel.

PhD Award Prize Medicinal / Pharmaceutical Chemistry 2020

Dr. Charlotte Steiniger
Dr. Bent Alexander Praefke

The PhD Award award 2020 of the GDCh Division of Medicinal Chemistry was awarded to Dr. Charlotte Steiniger   and Dr. Bent Alexander Praefke for your outstanding dissertations.

Dr. Charlotte Steiniger in recognition of her dissertation on the topic: "Studies on the Mechanism and the Reprogramming of Fungal Iterative Cyclodepsipeptide Synthetases". Dr. Steiniger modified fungal, non-ribosomal peptide synthetases in her work. This enabled her to make novel bioactive cyclodepsipeptide derivatives accessible, for which, among other things, a high anti-parasitic effect was shown. This enabled her to enter bio-engineering and the design of new peptides with pharmacological potential for the research area of fungal systems. Their results provided concrete indications for an active and application-oriented reprogramming of iterative as well as linear synthetases for future manipulation approaches. The dissertation was carried out in the working group of Prof. Dr. Roderich D. Süssmuth at the Technical University of Berlin.

Dr. Bent Alexander Praefke in recognition of his dissertation on the topic: " Design and synthesis of novel inhibitors of mitogen-activated protein kinase kinase 4 (MKK4)". Taking vemurafenib as the starting point, Dr. Praefke, obtained highly potent inhibitors of MKK4 in a multi-parameter optimization. In addition to their potency, the innovative compounds are characterized by their outstanding selectivity towards crucial anti-targets. Another focus of his work is the optimization of the synthetic access to the target structures, which allowed him to make target compounds for in vivo experiments in high purity and in sufficient quantities available in a timely manner. The dissertation was carried out in the working group of Prof. Dr. Stefan Laufer at the Eberhard Karls University of Tübingen.

PhD Award Prize Medicinal / Pharmaceutical Chemistry 2019

Dr. Franz von Nussbaum, Dr. Natascha
Stergiou und Dr. Elena De Vita
(v.l.n.r.; Foto: Dr. Ludwig Höllein,
Universität Würzburg)

The PhD Award award 2019 of the GDCh Division of Medicinal Chemistry Conference Chemistry was given to Dr. Elena De Vita, Dr. Natascha Stergiou and Dr. Robert Heinze for your outstanding dissertations.

Dr. Elena De Vita synthesized and characterized in her dissertation " Small molecule KLK6 inhibitors " selective and highly effective KLK6 inhibitors and KLK6 activity probes. Their ?tool compounds? enable the physiological and pathophysiological validation of KLK6 as a potential target for drugs.

Dr. In her dissertation " Use of tumor-associated mucin 1 (MUC1) to generate anti-tumor vaccines and monoclonal antibody derivatives as a basis for therapy and diagnosis of breast cancer ", Natascha Stergiou succeeded in selecting suitable synthetic glycopeptide MUC1-TTox vaccines , which showed a strongly delayed tumor growth in the preclinical breast tumor model and led to a marked extension of the lifespan in vaccinated animals. In this way, decisive prerequisites for the clinical and immunotherapeutic testing of this vaccine were achieved.

Dr. Robert Heinze describes in his dissertation " Scaffold Manipulations for the Synthesis of Seco- and Abeo-Steroids " new ways of synthesizing abeo-steroids and was able to synthesize a promising lead structure in Alzheimer's therapy with Stophasterol A. With a new approach to 9,11-secosteroids, efficient syntheses of the three natural substances ganoderin A, leptosterol A and pinnisterol D.

PhD Award Prize for Medicinal / Pharmaceutical Chemistry 2013ff

2020 Dr. Bent Alexander Praefke, Tübingen
Dr. Charlotte Steiniger, Berlin
2019 Dr. Elena De Vita, Heidelberg
Dr. Natascha Stergiou, Mainz
Dr. Robert Heinze, Berlin

Dr. Stefan Krimmer, New Haven, USA
Dr. Lucas Robke, Dortmund
Dr. Robert Wodtke, Dresden


Dr. Norbert Furtmann, Bonn
Dr. Patrick Mäder, Marburg
Dr. Roman Sommer, Saarbrücken


Dr. Matthias Gehringer, Zurich
Dr. Christine Katharina Maurer, Saarbrücken
Dr. rer. nat. Alexander Metz, Marburg

2015 Dr. Christoph Nitsche, Heidelberg
Dr. Johannes Schiebel, Marburg
Dr. Dominik Tobias Thimm, Bonn
2014 Dr. Florian Rechenmacher, Munich
Dr. Miriam Sindelar, Munich
Dr. Matthias Wirth, Lausanne
2013 Dr. Tobias Klein, Saarbrücken
Dr. Hannes Schleifer, Graz

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 06.07.2021 16:29 H from M.Sakarya