Awards & Honors

Sponsorship award from the GDCh division for Electrochemistry

The GDCh division for Electrochemistry gives usually annually the sponsorship Electrochemistry to a person of young scientists for an outstanding dissertation, thesis or scientific publication. The award is combined with a certificate of award and prize money of 1,000 euros donated by BASF.

The price is currently not advertised.

Young Scientist Award Electrochemistry 2021

The Young Scientist Award was given to Dr. Johannes Ludwig Röckl awarded in recognition of his in the working group of Prof. Dr. Siegfried Waldvogel at the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz: ?Merging shuttle reactions and paired electrolysis for reversible vicinal dihalogenations?.

Vicinal dibromides and dichlorides are widely used as flame retardants and pest control agents, polymers, and pharmaceuticals; Their efficient production without the use of highly reactive and corrosive halogenation reagents has not been successful so far. Only the skillful combination of electrochemistry and synthesis achieved a breakthrough. The electrochemical reduction of aliphatic polyhalogen compounds developed by Mr. Röckl with subsequent anodic oxidation of the released halide and its addition to double bonds is a new concept with a wide range of possible applications. With his "E-Shuttle" approach, Mr. Röckl shows how landfill residues of the toxic insecticide lindane can be used to manufacture new valuable products. Classic energy-intensive and technically complex degradation processes can be replaced by the new process. With his work, Mr. Röckl makes an important contribution to sustainable, electricity-based chemistry, which can contribute to the elimination of persistent industrial pollution.

Young Scientist Award Electrochemistry 2020

The Young Scientist Award was given to Tobias Löffler in recognition of his publication in February 2020 in the journal Angewandte Chemie International Edition entitled: "Design of Complex Solid-Solution Electrocatalysts by Correlating Configuration, Adsorption Energy Distribution Patterns, and Activity Curves".

High entropy alloys, in which five or more elements are present in a complex single-phase mixed crystal, form a multitude of combinations of electrocatalytically active centers that overcome the limitations of catalyst combinations of individual elements. Tobias Löffler developed a concept that correlates the composition of a mixed crystal with the distribution pattern of adsorption energies and thus enables the derivation of electrochemical activity curves. The concept was verified by investigating the oxygen reduction under alkaline conditions as a model reaction on selected catalyst combinations. This also makes it possible to limit the high effort involved in screening catalysts to the selection of sensible element configurations. The work contributes to the gain in understanding and reduces the future experimental effort for the synthesis and testing of electrocatalysts for the various applications of the promising substance class of high entropy alloys.

Electrochemistry Award 2019

Dr. C. Weidlich, Dr. P. Reinsberg, Dr. S. Bräuninger
(v.l.n.r.; Foto: GDCh/

The sponsorship award was given to Dr. Philip Heinrich Reinsberg for his outstanding dissertations on the topic: " On the Influence of Cations in Non-Aqueous Electrochemistry " on the occasion of the 2019 annual conference as part of the GDCh Science Forum in Aachen.

In his work, Philip Reinsberg investigated the influence of alkali and alkaline earth ions on oxygen reduction in aprotic solvents. The influence of the ions on the reaction mechanism and the selectivity of the products formed on various electrode materials is described by the concept of the acceptor number of the cation, which is generally applicable for mono- and even divalent ions. The concept is based on experimental results obtained through an elegant combination of various electrochemical methods with modern characterization techniques, for example surface-enhanced infrared spectroscopy. His work opens up access to a deeper understanding of processes in metal-air batteries, especially to the possibilities - but also limits - of the alkaline earth-air systems, which in future will be an alternative to the widespread lithium due to the accessible high energy densities and the good availability of raw materials -Ion batteries can be.

Advancement Young Scientist Award Electrochemistry 1985ff

2021 dr Johannes Ludwig Roeckl

GDCh Science Forum Chemistry 2021 (online)

2020 Tobias Loeffler

Electrochemistry Undercover (online)

2019 dr Philip Heinrich Reinsberg

GDCh Science Forum in Aachen

2018 dr Simon Geiger, Erlangen-Nuremberg Electrochemistry in Ulm
2017 Johannes Wandt, Munich GDCh Science Forum in Berlin
2016 dr Heinz Bülter, Oldenburg Electrochemistry in Goslar

dr Karin Kleiner, Karlsruhe
Kai S. Exner, Gießen

Annual conference in Dresden
2014 dr Pascal Hartmann, Gießen Electrochemistry in Mainz
2013 dr Andreas Lesch, Oldenburg
Angel A. Topalov, Dusseldorf
Annual conference in Darmstadt
2012 dr Susanne Zils, Darmstadt
dr Kristina Tschulik, Dresden
Electrochemistry in Munich
2011 dr Jörn Kulish, Karlsruhe
Alexander Opitz, Vienna
German José Soldano, Ulm
Annual conference in Bremen
2010 dr Sascha E. Pust, Odebug Electrochemistry in Bochum
2009 dr Falk Harnisch, Greifswald annual conference in Frankfurt
2007 dr Itamar Malkowsky, Mannheim annual conference in Ulm
2005 dr Stephan Lütz, Julich Annual conference in Dusseldorf
2003 dr Stefanie Meier, Munster annual conference in Munich
1999 Dipl.-Chem. Andreas Vogel, Dusseldorf Annual conference in Freiberg
1997 dr Martin Winter, Graz annual conference in Vienna
1994 dr Udo Schmiemann, Bonn Annual conference in Dresden
1991 Dipl.-Phys. Klaus Rühling, Kassel Annual conference in Ludwigshafen
1989 dr Thomas Pienemann, Hamburg annual conference in Stuttgart
1987 dr Lothar Elfenthal, Dusseldorf Annual conference in Frankfurt am Main
1985 dr Johannes Willsau, Bonn Annual conference in Dusseldorf

Poster Awards 2018

Posterpreisträger in alphabetischer Reihenfolge:
S. Dabos, K. Ehelebe, M. Hänsch, I. Kroner, D. Renz (Foto: Kröger, Metrohm)

The following poster prizes were awarded at Electrochemistry 2018 in Ulm:

Renishaw Analytics Poster Award:
Poster title: "Prussian Blue-based Microbiosensors"
Sven Daboss, Ulm/DE, A. Holzinger, Ulm/DE, J. Izquierdo, Ulm/DE, A, Karyakin, Moscow/RU,
C. Kranz, Ulm/DE

Wiley Poster Award:
Poster title: "Characterization on the nanoscale: Electrochemical strain microscopy (ESM) on electrode materials"
Diemo Renz, Marburg/DE, S. Bradler, Marburg/DE, B. Roling, Marburg/DE

Metrohm Poster Prize:
Poster title: "Nanoporous Gold - A Prototype for a Rational Design of Catalysts:
Electrocatalysis on Transport"

Mareike Hänsch, Oldenburg/DE, J. Behnken, Oldenburg/DE, L. Balboa, Oldenburg/DE,
M. Graf, Hamburg/DE, J. Weissmüller, Hamburg/DE, G. Wittstock, Oldenburg/DE

Poster title: "Bridging the gap between fundamental and applied fuel cell electrocatalysis: High-throughput catalyst Screening of gas Diffusion electrodes"
Konrad Ehelebe, Erlangen/DE, G. Polymeros, Düsseldorf/DE, S. Thiele, Erlangen/DE,
KJJ Mayrhofer, Erlangen/DE, S. Cherevko, Erlangen/DE

Poster title: "State of charge monitoring in a VFB by amperometric method"
Isabelle Kroner, Clausthal-Zellerfeld/DE, M. Becker, Clausthal/DE, T.Turek, Clausthal/DE

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 11.08.2022 10:59 H from Translator