Who we are – What we do

German Version

The Work Association of German University Professors for Chemistry (ADUC) promotes science and research in the field of chemistry as well as the education of qualified young scientists.  The tasks and activities of ADUC include creating opinions on the development of chemistry in research and teaching at universities, planning and hosting the Chemiedozententagung (CDT), conferring the ADUC Award as well as coordinating courses of study with the Conference of Chemistry Faculties (Konferenz der Fachbereiche Chemie (KFC)).

In 1897 the ADUC was founded as an association of laboratory management boards at German universities and could celebrate its centennial anniversary in 1997. The ADUC has been a work association in the GDCh since 1999.

ADUC Membership

All those who hold a C4-/C3- or W3-/W2-level professorship in chemistry at a university, technical university or comprehensive university and who wish to support the tasks and aims of the work association are welcome to join the ADUC.


The Chemiedozententagung (CDT) is a symposium that brings together young academics from all areas of chemistry. Habilitation candidates and ‘Junior’ professors use this platform to introduce their research and to exchange ideas with future colleagues.

This symposium takes place annually at selected universities in Germany. The meeting is hosted by the ADUC, chairpersons of the host university as well as the GDCh conference team.

ADUC Award

The ADUC supports science and research in the field of chemistry as well as the education of qualified young academics. Among various activities, it hosts the annual Chemiedozententagung, an important forum for young scientists. During this conference the ADUC honors up to three exceptional young scientists with the ADUC Award.

ADUC Laureates in 2019
The award ceremony took place during the CDT in Koblenz on March 18-20, 2019.
• Dr. Lutz Greb, Heidelberg
• Dr. Thomas-Christian Jagau, München
• Dr. Manuel van Gemmeren, Münster

List of all laureates (pdf.file, 22 KB)

Executive Board

Term of Office: April 1, 2019 until April 1, 2021

Prof. Dr. Ralf Ludwig
Universität Rostock
E-Mail: Prof. Dr. Ralf Ludwig

Deputy Chairwoman
Prof. Dr. Karola Rück-Braun
Technische Universität Berlin
E-Mail: Prof. Dr. Karola Rück-Braun

Designated Chairman
Prof. Dr. Norbert W. Mitzel
Universität Bielefeld
E-Mail: Prof. Dr. Norbert W. Mitzel


GDCh Office
Dr. Carina S. Kniep

Tel: +49 69 7917-499

zuletzt geändert am: 09.10.2019 14:54 Uhr von C.Kniep