Karl Ziegler Foundation

Karl Ziegler Foundation

Karl Ziegler Foundation

The Karl Ziegler Foundation was set up in 1993 as a dependent foundation at the German Chemical Society and made public in 1998 on the occasion of the 100th birthday of the namesake through the first foundation activities. The founder is the daughter of Karl Ziegler, Dr. Marianne Witte, who established this foundation in memory of her father, the 1963 Nobel Prize winner, Professor Dr. Dres. hc Karl Ziegler (1898 - 1973), established.

The Karl Ziegler Award , worth EUR 50,000 and a gold medal, is one of the most highly endowed German awards in the field of chemistry.

Since 1998, the foundation has also given preference to the Karl Ziegler sponsorship prizes for younger scientists. The Karl Ziegler Advancement Young Scientist Award was realigned in 2022. With the award, the foundation enables junior research group leaders to finance a postdoc for one year. All Karl Ziegler awardee should be active in the broad research fields of the namesake; that is both inorganic and organic chemistry, catalysis and polymer chemistry.

Karl Ziegler was the first chairman of the German Chemical Society after it was founded.

awardee since 1998

1998 Gerhard Ertl, Berlin ( Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2007 )
2000 Hans-Herbert Brintzinger, Konstanz
2003 Tobin J. Marks, Evanston, Ill./USA
2005 Manfred T. Reetz, Mülheim/Ruhr
2007 Martin Jansen, Stuttgart
2009 Paul Knochel, Munich
2011 Hans Joachim Freund, Berlin
2013 Alois Fürstner, Mülheim
2015 Helmut Schwarz, Berlin
2017 Matthias Beller, Rostock
2019 Klaus Müllen, Mainz
2021 Evamarie Hey-Hawkins, Leipzig
2023 Tanja Weil, Mainz

awardee of the Karl Ziegler Promotional Prize

2023 Christopher Teskey, RWTH Aachen University
1998 Rüdiger Beckhaus, Oldenburg
Thisbe Kerstin Lindhorst, Hamburg
Roland Kramer, Munster
Michael Famulok, Munich
Hans-Jörg Krüger, Hamburg

Karl Ziegler Award until 1992

The Karl Ziegler Prize was originally set up at the GDCh in 1974 to honor special merits in the field of organometallic chemistry. The prize, financed jointly by Hoechst AG and Hüls AG, was awarded to seven scientists from Germany and abroad between 1975 and 1992.

In 1998, on the occasion of the 100th birthday of the 1963 Nobel Prize laureate, the Karl Ziegler Award was taken over by the foundation of the same name, managed in trust by the GDCh and managed by Dr. Marianne Witte (1923 - 2012), daughter of Karl Ziegler, was established (see Karl Ziegler Foundation).

Holder of the Karl Ziegler Prize

Georg Wittig, Heidelberg

Günther Wilke, Mülheim / Ruhr

Jürgen Smidt, Munich
Walter Hafner, Munich

Dieter Seebach, Zurich / Switzerland

Jean-Marie Lehn, Strasbourg / France

Malcolm LH Green, Oxford / England

Foundation Advisory Board

dr Karsten Danielmeier, GDCh President 2022&2023 (chair)
Prof. Dr. Dieter Jahn, Hamburg (for the founding family)
Prof. Dr. Barbara Albert, Technical University of Darmstadt
Prof. Dr. Angelika Brückner, Leibniz Institute for Catalysis Rostock
Prof. Dr. Wolfram Koch, GDCh Executive Director
Prof. Dr. Ferdi Schüth, Max Planck Institute for Coal Research
Prof. Dr. Brigitte Voit, Leibniz Institute for Polymer Research Dresden

Winner 2021

Prizewinner 2023: Prof. Dr. Tanya Weil

Prizewinner 2023: Prof. Dr. Tanya Weil

The prize will be awarded to Prof. Dr. Tanja Weil, Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, and is endowed with 50,000 euros and a gold medal.


Dr. Jasmin Herr
Varrentrappstr. 40 - 42
60486 Frankfurt aM
Tel. +49 69 7917-323
Fax +49 69 7917-1323

Email: j.herr@gdch.de

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 31.08.2023 10:59 H from N/A