Heyrovsky - Ilkovic - Nernst lecture

Heyrovsky - Ilkovic - Nernst lecture

The Heyrovsky - Ilkovic - Nernst lecture is the only name lecture so far in trilateral cooperation. The German Chemical Society established the Heyrovsky - Ilkovic - Nernst Lecture in 2002 together with the Ceská Spolecnost Chemická and the Slovenská Chemická Spolocnost. The lecture took place for the first time in 2006.

The lecture was named after three important physical chemists from the three participating nations. The Czech professor Jaroslav Heyrovský developed polarography, for which he received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 1959. Polarography is a method for the qualitative and quantitative analysis of ions in a solution using a mercury drop electrode. Heyrovský was also a member of the Leopoldina.

The Slovak chemist Professor Dionýz Ilkovi? worked in the Heyrovský laboratory in 1930. In 1934 he published the Ilkovi? equation named after him, which made it possible to calculate concentrations from the currents measured in polarography. The corresponding derivation was published in 1938. Until 1976 Ilkovi? was a professor at the Comenius University in Bratislava.

In 1920 the German professor Walther Hermann Nernst received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his work in the field of thermochemistry. Nobody who deals with chemistry can get past Nernst. The Nernst equation named after him is part of the basic knowledge of every chemist. It describes the concentration dependence of the electrode potential of a redox couple. The third movement on thermodynamics also goes back to Nernst.

Excellent people so far

2020 - Ernest Beinrohr, Bratislava, Slovakia

Professor Ernest Beinrohr conducts research in the field of device development both at the University of Bratislava and in his own company in Slovakia.

More information on Professor Ernest Beinrohr

2019 - Fred Lisdat, Wildau

Professor Fred Lisdat studied chemistry at the Humboldt University in Berlin and is now professor for biosystems engineering. His main research interests are the investigation of the electrochemical behavior of biomolecules on metal and carbon electrodes, the determination of binding properties of biomolecules and their interaction with modified surfaces and the development of sensors for biological radicals, metabolites, DNA and antibodies.

More information on Professor Lisdat

Lecturer from 2015 to 2006


Jana Roithová, Prague / Czech Republic

2014 Wolfgang Schuhmann, Bochum
2013 Miroslav Fojta, Brno / Czech Republic
2011 Jan Labuda, Bratislava / Slovakia
2010 Frank-Michael Matysik, Regensburg

Jirí Barek, Prague / Czech Republic

2006 Christian Näther, Kiel

Commission of the Heyrovsky - Ilkovic - Nernst Lecture

Prof. Dr. Frank-Michael Matysik, University of Regensburg (lead management)
Prof. Dr. Fred Lisdat, Technical University of Wildau
Prof. Dr. Monika Mazik, Technical University of Freiberg
Prof. Dr. Jana Roithová, Radboud University

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 10.05.2021 14:59 H from J.Herr