GDCh Prize for Inorganic Chemistry

GDCh Prize for Inorganic Chemistry


  • Subject: Inorganic Chemistry
  • Consists of: 7,500 euros, certificate
  • First awarded: 1950
  • Awarded in: Even years

The GDCh Prize for Inorganic Chemistry is awarded to chemists for outstanding scientific work in the field of inorganic chemistry.

At its meeting on March 4, 2022, the GDCh Board of Directors decided to no longer name the prize for inorganic chemistry, which was previously named after the chemist Alfred Stock (1876-1946), after Stock. The Board is thus following a recommendation from the "Prices 2.0" commission, which has dealt extensively with Alfred Stocks on behalf of the Executive Board. The chairman of the Division of History of Chemistry, Prof. Carsten Reinhardt, Univ. Bielefeld, added. With this measure, the Board and Commission emphasize the GDCh's clear stance against anti-Semitism and discrimination as well as a clear commitment to diversity and equal opportunities. A detailed justification can be found in issue 07/08 2022 of the Nachrichten aus der Chemie . A decision on a new name will be made in the near future.

Current award winner: Stefanie Dehnen, Marburg

Professor Stefanie Dehnen received the Alfred-Stock Memorial Award 2020 (today GDCh Prize for Inorganic Chemistry) in recognition of her work in the field of synthesis, structural elucidation and application of innovative heteronuclear cluster and network compounds, which consist of either purely inorganic components or are inorganic - represent organic hybrid compounds. Fundamentally new insights into the structural, electronic and chemical properties of cluster compounds were produced. Innovative syntheses coupled with post-synthetic quantum chemical analyzes are characteristic of this research, through which it shapes modern cluster chemistry internationally.

More information about Professor Dehnen

Distinguished people since 1950

2020 Stefanie Dehnen, Marburg
2018 Christian Limberg, Berlin
2016 Holger Braunschweig, Wuerzburg
2014 Wolfgang Kaim, Stuttgart
2012 Werner Uhl, Munster
2010 Matthias Driess, Berlin
2008 Michael Lappert, Brighton/UK
2006 Karl Otto Christe, Los Angeles CA/USA
2004 Hans Georg Schnöckel, Karlsruhe
2002 Peter Jutzi, Bielefeld
2000 Achim Mueller, Bielefeld
1998 Peter Paetzold, Aachen
1996 Martin Jansen, Bonn
1994 Otto J. Scherer, Kaiserslautern
1992 Gottfried Huttner, Heidelberg
1990 Herbert W. Roesky, Goettingen
1988 Helmut Werner, Wuerzburg
1986 Marianne Baudler, Cologne
1983 Eugene G. Rochow, Captiva/USA
1982 Hubert Schmidbaur, Munich
1981 Hans Georg von Schnering, Stuttgart
1979 Ulrich Wannagat, Brunswick
1976 Heinrich Noeth, Munich
1974 Rudolf Hoppe, Gießen
1972 Max Schmidt, Wuerzburg
1970 Gerhard Fritz, Karlsruhe
1967 Harald Schäfer, Munster
1964 Werner Fischer, Hanover
1963 Friedrich Seel, Saarbrucken
1961 Margot Becke-Goehring, Heidelberg
1959 Ernst Otto Fischer, Munich
1958 Rudolf Scholder, Karlsruhe
1956 Hermann Irving Schlesinger, Chicago/USA
1955 Ulrich Hofmann, Darmstadt
1954 Harry Julius Emeleu, Cambridge/UK
1953 Josef Goubeau, Stuttgart
1952 Robert Schwarz, Aachen
1951 Walter Hieber, Munich
1950 Egon Wiberg, Munich

selection committee

Prof. Dr. Claus Feldmann, KIT Karlsruhe (Leadership Klemm)
Prof. Dr. Manfred Scheer, University of Regensburg (lead management Stock)
Prof. Dr. Christian Limberg, Humboldt University in Berlin
Prof. Dr. Bettina Valeska Lotsch, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich
Prof. Dr. Eva Rentschler, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz
dr Kerstin Schierle-Arndt, BASF SE

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 29.06.2022 16:29 H from Translator