Ars legendi faculty prize

Ars legendi faculty award


  • Subject: university teaching
  • Consists of: 5,000 euros, certificate
  • First awarded: 2014
  • Allocated in: Yearly
  • Awarded jointly by: Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft, DMV, DPG, VBIO and GDCh

The Ars Legendi Faculty Prize for Mathematics and Natural Sciences is awarded for the categories of biosciences, chemistry, mathematics and physics and is awarded to people who have distinguished themselves through outstanding, innovative and exemplary achievements in teaching, advice and support at the university.

The prize is endowed with 5,000 euros for each category. The recipients of the prize are the Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft, the German Mathematical Society, the German Physical Society, the German Chemical Society and the Association for Biology, Biosciences & Biomedicine in Germany.

Prizewinner Chemistry 2022 - Nele Milsch, Georg-August-University Göttingen

Nele Milsch from the Faculty of Chemistry at the Georg-August-Universität Göttingen has made an important contribution to improving teaching with the SciTuition training concept. This concept prepares tutors professionally and didactically for their tasks, including supervision of internships in chemistry studies. The jury rated positively that there are in-depth modules and credit points for the tutors.

More information about Nele Milch

Prize winner chemistry 2021 - Olalla Vázquez, Philipps University Marburg

Foto: Carsten Rogall

Professor Olalla Vázquez is the recipient of the Ars legendi Faculty Prize for Mathematics and Natural Sciences in the Chemistry category 2021. She is recognized for her teaching concept, which focuses on the realistic and comprehensive teaching of the scientific process. With courses whose content and design are consistently based on current research, it prepares students precisely for activities in research. She places particular emphasis on imparting broad methodological knowledge, presentation experience, active learning and personal responsibility.

More information on Professor Vázquez

Distinguished people since 2014

2022 Chemistry

Nele Milsch, Georg-August University of Goettingen


Julia Sammet, Goethe University Frankfurt am Main

mathematics Martin Schlather, University of Mannheim
life sciences

Dagmar Hann, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich
Daniela Meilinger, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich

2021 Chemistry Olalla Vasquez, University of Marburg

Christian Hoffmann, Saarland University

mathematics Brigitte Forster-Heinlein, University of Passau
life sciences Katrin Meyer, University of Goettingen
2020 Chemistry Dirk Burdinski, Cologne

Heidrun Heinke, Aachen

Sebastian Staacks, Aachen

Christopher Stampfer, Aachen

mathematics Ulrich Kortenkamp, Potsdam
life sciences Martin Wilmking, Greifswald
2019 Chemistry Lena Daumann, Munich

Burkhard Priemer, Berlin

mathematics Robert Rockenfeller, Koblenz
life sciences

Markus Pietrowski, Bochum

2018 Chemistry Klaus Lehmann, Bonn

Bernd-Uwe Runge, Constance

Philipp Moehrke, Constance

mathematics Leif Doehring, Mannheim
life sciences Frank Sprenger, Regensburg
2017 Chemistry Christian Ehli, Erlangen-Nuremberg

Claudia Schaefle, Rosenheim

Silke Stanzel, Rosenheim

Elmar Junker, Rosenheim

mathematics Sven de Fries, Trier
life sciences Jorge Gross, Bamberg
2016 Chemistry 

Rochard Göttlich, Gießen

Nicole Graulich, Gießen

Siegfried Schindler, Gießen


Frederic Schuller, Erlangen-Nuremberg

mathematics Ilka Agricola, Marburg
life sciences Dorothea Kaufman, Heidelberg
2015 Chemistry Dietmar Stalke, Goettingen

Bernd Jödicke, Constance

Jurgen Sum, Constance

mathematics Norbert Henze, Karlsruhe
life sciences 

Simone Karrie, Brunswick

Reinhard Köster, Braunschweig

Martin Korte, Brunswick

2014 Chemistry Thorsten Daubenfeld, Idstein

Christian Wagner, Saarbrucken

mathematics Daniel Grieser, Oldenburg
life sciences 

Dominik Begerow, Bochum

Jens Wollecke, Bochum

Selection committee

The jury, chaired by the president of the specialist society that oversees the award in the respective year, is composed of:

One student representative per specialist society
One expert from the university for each professional society
One representative per sponsor
A university didactic specialist (selected by the Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft)

The GDCh sends the following representatives to the jury:

A member of the JCF national board or a JCF regional spokesperson as student representative
The ADUC chairman as university experts

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 06.02.2023 15:29 H from Translator