Wöhler Prize for Sustainable Chemistry

Wöhler Prize for Sustainable Chemistry


  • Subject: Sustainable Chemistry
  • Consists of: ? 7,500, certificate
  • First awarded: 1998
  • Given in: odd years

The Wöhler Prize for Sustainable Chemistry has its roots in the Chemical Society of the GDR, which awarded a prize named after Friedrich Wöhler from 1960 to 1991. In 1998 the GDCh resumed this award. The Wöhler Prize for Resource-Conserving Processes was awarded until 2011 for innovative research contracts on greater environmental compatibility, responsible use of existing or development of new resources. In 2012 the prize was renamed Wöhler Prize for Sustainable Chemistry and is awarded for pioneering and outstanding contributions to the development and implementation of sustainable chemistry.

Prize winner 2019 - Dieter Vogt, Dortmund

The GDCh honored Professor Dieter Vogt with the Wöhler Prize for Sustainable Chemistry in recognition of his outstanding and pioneering research achievements in the field of sustainable chemistry, especially in recognition of his fundamental work on applied homogeneous catalysis of molecular foundations for processes for sustainable chemistry.

More information on Professor Vogt

Prize winners since 1998

2019 Dieter Vogt, Dortmund
2017 Konrad Hungerbühler, Zurich / Switzerland
2015 Matthias Beller, Rostock
2013 Bernhard Rieger, Munich
2012 Paul T. Anastas, New Haven, CT / USA

Holder of the Wöhler Prize for Resource-Conserving Processes

2011 Ferdi Schüth, Mülheim ad Ruhr
2009 Walter Leitner, Aachen
2007 Jürgen O. Metzger, Oldenburg

Torsten Groth, Leverkusen, Lanxess Germany GmbH
Winfried Joentgen, Wuppertal, Bayer HealthCare AG
Alfred Mitschker, Odenthal, formerly Bayer AG
Nikolaus Müller, Leverkusen, Lanxess Germany GmbH

2002 Christian Wandrey, Jülich and Bonn

Karlheinz Hill, Düsseldorf, Cognis GmbH
Rainer Eskuchen, Düsseldorf, Cognis GmbH
Patrick M. McCurry, Cincinnati, Cognis GmbH

1998 Hans-Peter Rath, Ludwigshafen, BASF AG

Selection committee

Prof. Bernhard RIEGER, Munich (lead)
Prof. Michael MEIER, Karlsruhe
Prof. Regina PALKOVITS, Aachen
Dr. Maximilian HEMPEL, Osnabrück
Dr. Dorit WOLF, Hanau
Prof. Ferdi SCHÜTH, Mülheim ad Ruhr

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 10.05.2021 14:59 H from