Otto Hahn Award

Otto Hahn Prize


  • Subject: Special Merits
  • Consists of: ? 50,000, gold medal, certificate
  • First awarded: 2005 (1955)
  • Given in: odd years
  • Awarded jointly by: City of Frankfurt aM, DPG and GDCh

§2 statutes of the Otto Hahn Prize: purpose, fulfillment of purpose

"The award serves to promote science, especially in the fields of chemistry,

Physics and applied engineering

through the recognition of outstanding scientific achievements.

This is also connected with the intention of making the responsibility of science for society clear. "

The Otto Hahn Prize is jointly awarded every two years by the City of Frankfurt a. M., the German Physical Society (DPG) and the German Chemical Society (GDCh). The GDCh works together with the other member societies of the German Central Committee for Chemistry (DZfCh).

The prize has been awarded since 2005 and is a merger of the former Otto Hahn Prize of the City of Frankfurt, the Otto Hahn Prize for Physics and Chemistry of the DPG and the GDCh, which was established in 1953.

Renowned physicists and chemists alternate with the award. It is endowed with ? 50,000. Half of which is financed by the City of Frankfurt and a quarter each by the companies involved. The award ceremony will take place in the Pauls Church in Frankfurt.

awardee 2021 - Klaus Blaum, Heidelberg

Professor Klaus Blaum received the Otto Hahn Award 2021 for pioneering experiments and precision measurements in the field of particle, nuclear and atomic physics. With brilliant experimentation, creative ideas and the highest motivation of his team, he has repeatedly succeeded in achieving world records for accuracy in determining the properties of elementary building blocks of matter, such as the mass of the electron, the proton and the deuteron. His fundamental contributions contribute to expanding the limits of our knowledge and sharpen the criteria for the current physical world view.

More information on Professor Blaum

Prize winners since 1955

2021 Klaus Blaum, Heidelberg physics
2019 Martin Jansen, Stuttgart chemistry
2017 Karsten Danzmann, Hanover physics
2015 Jürgen Troe, Göttingen chemistry
2013 Ferenc Krausz, Munich physics
2011 Manfred Reetz, Mülheim ad Ruhr and Marburg chemistry
2009 Stefan Heil, Göttingen physics (Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2014)
2007 Gerhard Ertl, Berlin Chemistry (Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2007)
2005 Theodor W. Hänsch, Munich physics (Nobel Prize in physics 2005)

Laureates of the Otto Hahn Award for Chemistry and physics

2003 Helmut Schwarz, Berlin
2000 Hans Christoph Wolf, Stuttgart
1998 Dieter Oesterheit, Martinsried
1989 Rudolf Hoppe, Gießen
1986 Heinz Maler-Leibnitz, Munich
1979 Rolf Huisgen, Munich
1974 Friedrich Hund, Göttingen
1967 Georg Wittig, Heidelberg
1965 Erich Hückel, Marburg
1962 Manfred Eigen, Göttingen
1959 Hans Meerwein, Marburg

Lise Meitner, Stockholm / Sweden

Heinrich Wieland, Starnberg

Board of trustees and Selection Committee

The winners are selected by a Board of trustees made up of eight members. Four members belong to the city of Frankfurt (Lord Mayor, City Councilor, Head of Cultural Affairs, University President) and two each name the boards of GDCh and DPG.

A selection committee prepares a proposal for the Board of trustees in advance:

Prof. Herbert WALDMANN (lead, Otto Hahn Prize Board of trustees )
Prof. Barbara ALBERT (Otto Hahn Prize Board of trustees )
Prof. Jürgen GAUß, Mainz
Prof. Katharina LANDFESTER, MPI Mainz
Prof. Joachim SAUER, TU Berlin
Prof. Benjamin LIST, MPI Mülheim

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 12.11.2021 10:59 H from