Hermann Staudinger Prize

Hermann Staudinger Prize


  • Subject: macromolecular chemistry
  • Consists of: 7,500 euros, gold medal, certificate
  • First awarded: 1971
  • Awarded in: Even years

The Hermann Staudinger Award is awarded by the GDCh every two years to scientists who have made special contributions to the field of macromolecular chemistry. The award commemorates Hermann Staudinger, known as the father of polymer chemistry, who received the 1953 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his achievements. The GDCh Division of Macromolecular Chemistry has the right to nominate the awardee.

Current awardee: Markus Antonietti, Potsdam

Professor Markus Antonietti received the Hermann Staudinger Award 2020 in recognition of his groundbreaking work in the field of macromolecular chemistry, which is characterized by its remarkable breadth, creative and innovative chemistry with high application potential, as well as for his outstanding contributions to the promotion of young university teachers.

More information on Professor Antonietti

Prize winner 2018 - Brigitte Voit, Dresden

© Photo 2016
Tristan Vostry

The GDCh awarded Professor Brigitte Voit the Hermann Staudinger Prize in recognition of her fundamental work on the synthesis and application of highly branched polymer architectures and in recognition of her outstanding international commitment to the field of macromolecular chemistry.

More information about Professor Voit

Distinguished people since 1971

2020 Markus Antonietti, Potsdam
2018 Brigitte Voit, Dresden
2016 Klaus Müllen, Mainz
2014 Martin Moeller, Aachen
2012 Axel Mueller, Bayreuth
2009 Rolf Mülhaupt, Freiburg
2006 Wolfgang Peter Meier, Basel/Switzerland
2003 Walter Kaminsky, Hamburg
2000 Walter Hugo Stockmayer, Hanover/USA
1997 Hansjoerg Sinn, Hamburg
1994 Burkart Philipp, Teltow
1990 Gerhard Wegner, Mainz
1985 Helmut Ringsdorf, Mainz
1981 Hans Batzer, Basel/Switzerland
1979 Georg Manecke, Berlin
1977 Herman Schnell, Leverkusen
1976 Hans Fikentscher, Ludwigshafen
1973 Otto Bayer, Leverkusen

Werner Kern, Mainz

Günter Viktor Schulz, Mainz

selection committee

Prof. Dr. Katharina Landfester, MPI for Polymer Research Mainz (lead management)
Prof. Dr. Christopher Barner-Kowollik, Queensland University of Technology
Prof. Dr. Holger Frey, Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz
Prof. Dr. Rainer Haag, Free University of Berlin
Prof. Dr. Sabine Ludwigs, University of Stuttgart

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 10.05.2021 14:49 H from J.Herr