Carl Duisberg Memorial Prize

Carl Duisberg Memorial Prize


  • Subject: Young scientists in chemistry
  • Consists of: ? 7,500 (of which ? 5,000 for the award winner and ? 2,500 for the working group), certificate
  • First awarded: 1936
  • Given in: Annually

The Carl Duisberg Memorial Prize serves to promote young academics in chemistry and is endowed with a total of 7,500 euros. It is awarded to individuals who work at a German university or as a German at a foreign university, who do not yet hold a W2 / W3 in a comparable position and who are not over 40 years of age.

In 1935, the IG Farbenindustrie established the Carl Duisberg Memorial Foundation at the Association of German Chemists to promote the next generation of academics. It was intended to express the close ties between industrial chemist Carl Duisberg and chemical research and teaching. After the Second World War, the foundation was initially not renewed. At the suggestion of the GDCh board of directors, Bayer AG agreed in 1969 to revive the award. Financing is now provided from the proceeds of a special fund for awards at the GDCh.

Current awardee: Felix Schacher, Jena

The GDCh honored Professor Felix Schacher with the Carl-Duisberg Memorial Award for his pioneering work in the field of polyampholytes and polyelectrolytes, as well as polymer and hybrid materials derived from them.

More information on Professor Schacher

Award winner 2019 - Sandra Luber, Zurich / Switzerland

Professor Sandra Luber received the Carl Duisberg Memorial Prize in recognition of her groundbreaking work on design and deepening understanding of functional materials and efficient catalysts through the development of new methods in computational chemistry.

More information on Professor Luber

Prize winners since 1936

2020 Felix Schacher, Jena
2019 Sandra Luber, Zurich / Switzerland
2018 Bill Morandi, Mülheim ad Ruhr
2017 Shigeyoshi Inoue, Munich
2016 Felix R. Fischer, Berkeley / USA
2015 Kallol Ray, Berlin
2014 Tanja Junkers, Diepenbreek / Belgium
2013 Mathias Christmann, Dortmund
2012 Daniel Seidel, Piscataway / USA
2011 Christian Hartinger, Vienna / Austria
2010 Sebastian Schlücker, Osnabrück
2009 David Scheschkewitz, London / UK
2008 Harald Gröger, Erlangen-Nuremberg
2007 Lukas J. Goossen, Kaiserslautern
2006 Margaret-Jane Crawford, Munich
2005 Cosima Stubenrauch, Dublin / Ireland
2004 Andreas Terfort, Hamburg
2003 Benjamin List, La Jolla / USA
2002 Christian Limberg, Garching and Heidelberg
2001 Hendrik Zipse, Munich
2000 Thisbe K. Lindhorst, Kiel
1999 Ulrich Bernd Wiesner, Ithaca / USA
1998 Rüdiger Beckhaus, Aachen
1997 Carlo Unverzagt, Garching
1996 Jürgen Gauss
1995 Manfred Martin, Darmstadt
1994 Hansjörg Grützmacher, Freiburg
1993 Wilhelm F. Maier, Stuttgart
1992 Herbert Waldmann, Bonn
1991 Joachim Maier, Stuttgart
1989 Michael Buback, Göttingen
1988 Werner P. Müller-Esterl, Munich
1987 Gerd Meyer, Giessen
1986 Hans-Joachim Gais, Darmstadt
1985 Hans-Josef Altenbach, Cologne
1984 Heino Finkelmann, Clausthal-Zellerfeld
1983 Heinrich Betz, Martinsried
1982 Siegfried Schneider, Munich
1981 Wolf Peter Fehlhammer, Erlangen-Nuremberg
1980 Hans-Dieter Martin, Würzburg
1979 Manfred Zeidler, Karlsruhe
1978 Hans-Friedrich Klein, Munich
1977 Bernd Giese, Freiburg
1976 Konrad Sandhoff, Munich
1975 Dieter Sellmann, Munich
1974 Richard R. Schmidt, Stuttgart
1972 Fritz Eckstein, Göttingen
1971 Werner Kutzelnigg, Karlsruhe
1970 Henri Brunner, Munich
1969 Gert Köbrich, Heidelberg

Prize winners of the Association of German Chemists

1943 Hans Lettré, Göttingen
1941 Karl Gleu, Jena
1939 Hans Brockmann, Göttingen
1938 Elisabeth Dane, Munich
1937 Herbert Brintzinger, Jena
1936 Rudolf Tschesche, Göttingen

Selection committee

Prof. Sven SCHNEIDER, Göttingen (lead)
Prof. Martin KAUPP, Berlin
Prof. Beate PAULUS, Berlin
Dr. Frank ROSOWSKI, Berlin
Prof. Sonja HERRES-PAWLIS, Dortmund

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 30.11.2021 15:52 H from J.Herr