Ars legendi faculty award

Ars legendi faculty award


  • Subject: University teaching
  • Consists of: ? 5,000, certificate
  • First awarded: 2014
  • Given in: Annually
  • Jointly awarded by: Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft, DMV, DPG, VBIO and GDCh

The Ars Legendi Faculty Prize Mathematics and Natural Sciences is advertised for the categories of biosciences, chemistry, mathematics and Physics and awarded to scientists who distinguish themselves through outstanding, innovative and exemplary performance in teaching, consulting and support at the university.

The prize is endowed with 5,000 euros for each category. The award winners are the Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft, the German Mathematicians Association, the German Physical Society, the German Chemical Society and the Association for Biology, Biosciences & Biomedicine in Germany.

Prize winner chemistry 2021 - Olalla Vázquez, Philipps University Marburg

Foto: Carsten Rogall

Professor Olalla Vázquez is the recipient of the Ars legendi Faculty Prize for Mathematics and Natural Sciences in the Chemistry category 2021. She is recognized for her teaching concept, which focuses on the realistic and comprehensive teaching of the scientific process. With courses whose content and design are consistently based on current research, it prepares students precisely for activities in research. She places particular emphasis on imparting broad methodological knowledge, presentation experience, active learning and personal responsibility.

More information on Professor Vázquez

Chemistry Prize Winner 2020 - Dirk Burdinski, Cologne

Foto: Thilo Schmülgen

Professor Dirk Burdinski received the Ars legendi faculty award for the constant development of new teaching concepts. An example of this are e-tests for students to compare their knowledge levels. He also established a school laboratory that is supported by videos. Another project are the "Inverted Classrooms" with which he adapted the chemistry internship at the beginning of the course in order to make it easier for the young students to access the new situations in the laboratory.

More information on Professor Burdinski

Prize winners since 2014

2020 chemistry Dirk Burdinski, Cologne

Heidrun Heinke, Aachen

Sebastian Staacks, Aachen

Christoph Stampfer, Aachen

mathematics Ulrich Kortenkamp, Potsdam
Life sciences Martin Wilmking, Greifswald
2019 chemistry Lena Daumann, Munich

Burkhard Priemer, Berlin

mathematics Robert Rockenfeller, Koblenz
Life sciences

Markus Pietrowski, Bochum

2018 chemistry Klaus Lehmann, Bonn

Bernd-Uwe Runge, Constance

Philipp Möhrke, Constance

mathematics Leif Döhring, Mannheim
Life sciences Frank Sprenger, Regensburg
2017 chemistry Christian Ehli, Erlangen-Nuremberg

Claudia Schäfle, Rosenheim

Silke Stanzel, Rosenheim

Elmar Junker, Rosenheim

mathematics Sven de Fries, Trier
Life sciences Jorge Gross, Bamberg
2016 chemistry 

Rochard Göttlich, Giessen

Nicole Graulich, Giessen

Siegfried Schindler, Giessen


Frederic Schuller, Erlangen-Nuremberg

mathematics Ilka Agricola, Marburg
Life sciences Dorothea Kaufmann, Heidelberg
2015 chemistry Dietmar Stalke, Göttingen

Bernd Jödicke, Constance

Jürgen Sum, Constance

mathematics Norbert Henze, Karlsruhe
Life sciences 

Simone Karrie, Braunschweig

Reinhard Köster, Braunschweig

Martin Korte, Braunschweig

2014 chemistry Thorsten Daubenfeld, Idstein

Christian Wagner, Saarbrücken

mathematics Daniel Grieser, Oldenburg
Life sciences 

Dominik Begerow, Bochum

Jens Wöllecke, Bochum

Selection committee

The jury, chaired by the president of the specialist society that oversees the award in the respective year, is composed of:

One student representative per specialist society
One expert from the university for each professional society
One representative per sponsor
A university didactic specialist (selected by the Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft)

The GDCh sends the following representatives to the jury:

A member of the JCF national board or a JCF regional spokesperson as student representative
The ADUC chairman as university experts

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 02.06.2021 13:59 H from