Alfred Stock Memorial Prize

Alfred Stock Memorial Prize


  • Subject: Inorganic Chemistry
  • Consists of: ? 7,500, gold medal, certificate
  • First awarded: 1950
  • Given in: even years

The Alfred Stock Memorial Prize is awarded to chemists for excellent scientific work in the field of inorganic chemistry. Alfred Stock was an outstanding inorganic chemist. The elements boron, mercury and silicon were at the center of his work. Their alchemical symbols can be seen on the back of the gold medal.

Current award winner: Stefanie Dehnen, Marburg

Professor Stefanie Dehnen received the Alfred-Stock Memorial Award 2020 in recognition of her work in the field of synthesis, structure elucidation and application of innovative heteronuclear cluster and network compounds that either consist of purely inorganic components or represent inorganic-organic hybrid compounds. Fundamentally new insights into the structural, electronic and chemical properties of cluster compounds were thereby produced. Innovative syntheses coupled with post-synthetic quantum chemical analyzes are characteristic of this research, through which it shapes modern cluster chemistry internationally.

More information on Professor Dehnen

Prize winner 2018 - Christian Limberg, Berlin

Professor Christian Limberg received the Alfred Stock Memorial Prize in recognition of his extensive work on oxygen complexes and catalytic oxidation reactions. Reactive centers of oxygen-transferring enzymes as well as selected structural elements of heterogeneous oxidation catalysts serve as models for the synthesis of novel, functional molecules. This extraordinary breadth, which also includes methods from physical chemistry such as matrix isolation experiments, and the unique combination of ideas from organometallic, bioinorganic and solid-state chemistry contribute to a deep understanding of oxidation and oxygenation reactions.

More information on Professor Limberg

Prize winners since 1950

2020 Stefanie Dehnen, Marburg
2018 Christian Limberg, Berlin
2016 Holger Braunschweig, Würzburg
2014 Wolfgang Kaim, Stuttgart
2012 Werner Uhl, Münster
2010 Matthias Drieß, Berlin
2008 Michael Lappert, Brighton / UK
2006 Karl Otto Christe, Los Angeles CA / USA
2004 Hans Georg Schnöckel, Karlsruhe
2002 Peter Jutzi, Bielefeld
2000 Achim Müller, Bielefeld
1998 Peter Paetzold, Aachen
1996 Martin Jansen, Bonn
1994 Otto J. Scherer, Kaiserslautern
1992 Gottfried Huttner, Heidelberg
1990 Herbert W. Roesky, Göttingen
1988 Helmut Werner, Würzburg
1986 Marianne Baudler, Cologne
1983 Eugene G. Rochow, Captiva / USA
1982 Hubert Schmidbaur, Munich
1981 Hans Georg von Schnering, Stuttgart
1979 Ulrich Wannagat, Braunschweig
1976 Heinrich Nöth, Munich
1974 Rudolf Hoppe, Giessen
1972 Max Schmidt, Wuerzburg
1970 Gerhard Fritz, Karlsruhe
1967 Harald Schäfer, Münster
1964 Werner Fischer, Hanover
1963 Friedrich Seel, Saarbrücken
1961 Margot Becke-Goehring, Heidelberg
1959 Ernst Otto Fischer, Munich
1958 Rudolf Scholder, Karlsruhe
1956 Hermann Irving Schlesinger, Chicago / USA
1955 Ulrich Hofmann, Darmstadt
1954 Harry Julius Emeléus, Cambridge / UK
1953 Josef Goubeau, Stuttgart
1952 Robert Schwarz, Aachen
1951 Walter Hieber, Munich
1950 Egon Wiberg, Munich

Selection committee

Prof. Manfred SCHEER (lead)
Prof. Claus FELDMANN, Karlsruhe
Prof. Matthias DRIEß, Berlin
Prof. Bettina LOTSCH, Munich
Prof. Eva RENTSCHLER, Mainz
Dr. Kerstin SCHIERLE-ARNDT, Ludwigshafen

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 06.09.2021 15:29 H from