Albrecht Kossel Prize

Albrecht Kossel Prize


  • Subject: Biochemistry
  • Consists of: ? 7,500, certificate
  • First awarded: 2014
  • Given in: even years

With the Albrecht Kossel Prize, the GDCh honors personalities who have done excellent work in the field of Biochemistry . The price was decided by the board of directors in December 2012. In 1910 Albrecht Kossel received the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine "in recognition of the contribution that his work on proteins, including nuclei, has made to our knowledge of the chemistry of the cell".

Current awardee: Marina Rodnina, Göttingen

Professor Marina Rodnina was awarded the Albrecht-Kossel Award in 2020 for her pioneering work on research into protein biosynthesis and the function of the ribosome. The combination of kinetic analyzes with modern structure-based methods led to new models of translation in general and to specific insights into individual catalytic steps of the ribosome.

More information on Professor Rodnina

Prize winner 2018 - Annette Beck-Sickinger, Leipzig

Professor Beck-Sickinger received the Albrecht Kossel Prize for her fundamental work on understanding the function of peptide hormones, in particular on the interaction of peptides with membrane receptors and on the synthesis of tailor-made peptides with therapeutic relevance.

More information on Professor Beck-Sickinger

Prize winners since 2014

2020 Marina Rodnina, Goettingen
2018 Annette Beck-Sickinger, Leipzig
2016 Johannes Buchner, Garching
2014 Roland Lill, Marburg

Selection committee

Prof. Christian HACKENBERGER, Berlin (lead)
Prof. Mark HELM, Mainz
Prof. Annette BECK-SICKINGER, Leipzig
Prof. Kathrin LANG, Munich
Prof. Helma WENNEMERS, Zurich / Switzerland

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 30.11.2021 15:14 H from J.Herr