Hermanos Elhuyar - Hans Goldschmidt Lecture

Hermanos Elhuyar - Hans Goldschmidt Lecture

Together with the Real Sociedad Española de Química, the Hermanos Elhuyar - Hans Goldschmidt Lecture was established in 1998. It took place for the first time a year later in Spain. Professor Hans-Heinrich Limbach from Berlin was invited.

The Elhuyar brothers were both passionate mineralogists and chemists. They both studied in Paris and went to the Freiberg Mining Academy. They continued their education through educational trips to Central and Northern Europe. In 1783 the brothers published their research on the extraction of tungsten from wolframite. That makes them the discoverers of tungsten.

The chemist Hans Goldschmidt was born in Berlin in 1861. He studied in Berlin and later with Robert Wilhelm Bunsen at the University of Heidelberg, where he also received his doctorate. In 1894 he developed the thermite process, which is still important today. This redox reaction enabled the simple production of carbon-free metals such as iron, chromium and manganese and is still of great importance in rail construction today.

Excellent scientists so far

2020 - Thomas Bein, Munich

In his research, Professor Bein deals with functional nanosystems. The physical chemist and his working group are interested in metal organic frameworks, semiconductors and Medicine applications.

More information on Professor Thomas Bein

2019 - Luis M. Liz-Marzán, Donostia-San Sebastián / Spain

Professor Luis M. Liz-Marzán conducts research in the field of synthesis and the mechanisms of formation of (plasmonic) metal nanoparticles with controlled composition, size and morphology. He also deals with functionalized carbon nanostructures, Janus particles and the application of metal nanoparticles in biosensors.

More information on Professor Liz-Marzán

Lecturers from 2018 to 1999


Tomás Torres, Madrid / Spain

Paul Knochel, Munich

2017 Karsten Meyer, Erlangen-Nuremberg

Nazario Martin, Madrid / Spain

Frank Würthner, Würzburg

2015 Evamarie Hey-Hawkins, Leipzig
2014 Helmuth Möhwald, Potsdam

Antonio Liobet, Barcelona / Spain

Gerhard Erker, Münster


David Brian Amabilino, Cerdanyola des Vallés / Spain

Christian Griesinger, Göttingen

2010 Horst Weller, Hamburg
2009 Dirk Guldi, Erlangen-Nuremberg

Pablo Espinet, Valladolid / Spain

Klaus Müllen, Mainz

2007 Gernot Frenking, Marburg
2006 Andreas Hirsch, Erlangen-Nuremberg
2005 José Barluenga, Oviedo / Spain
2004/2005 Silvia E. Braslavsky, Mühlheim / Ruhr
2003/2004 Markus Antonietti, Golm
2002 Luis A. Oro, Zaragoza / Spain
2000 Ernesto Carmona-Gusmán, Seville / Spain
1999 Hans-Heinrich Limbach, Berlin

Commission of the Hermanos Elhuyar - Hans Goldschmidt Lecture

Prof. Arànzazu DEL CAMPO, Saarbrücken (lead)
Prof. Alicia CASITAS, Marburg
Prof. Horst WELLER, University of Hamburg
Prof. Christian GRIESINGER, MPI Göttingen

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 10.05.2021 14:59 H from