Heilbronn - Hückel lecture

Heilbronner - Hückel Chemistry Lecture

The Heilbronner-Hückel lecture was agreed between the Swiss Chemical Society and the German Chemical Society and was founded in 2009. Professor Jürgen Troe from Göttingen was honored for the first time in 2010 and invited to Switzerland.

Professor Erich Hückel was a theoretical chemist in Marburg and is considered a pioneer in the field of quantum chemistry. His most important scientific achievement is the formulation of the Hückel approximation and the Hückel rule resulting from it, which is known to every chemist today and is one of the fundamentals. It can be used to predict whether a chemical compound is aromatic.

The German-Swiss theoretical chemist Edgar Heilbronner dealt intensively with the Hückel approximation developed by Hückel and published the idea of aromatic compounds with Möbius strip topology in 1964. This type of aromatic was first synthesized in 2003.

Excellent scientists so far

2021 - Clémence Corminboeuf, Lausanne / Switzerland

Bild: EPFL

Professor Clémence Corminboeuf is a theoretical chemist at the Ecole polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne. Her main research interest is the study of non-covalent interactions, through which she was able to identify promising organic semiconductors and catalysts. Her most recent work deals with models for machine learning in order to be able to capture important properties of electronic structures with little computational effort.

More information on Professor Clémence Corminboeuf

2020 - Katharina Kohse-Höinghaus, Bielefeld

Bild: N. Langohr,

Professor Katharina Kohse-Höinghaus researches and teaches at Bielefeld University. Her research focus is combustion chemistry, which she studies using laser spectroscopy and mass spectrometry in order to optimize the combustion process.

More information on Professor Katharina Kohse-Höinghaus

Lecturers from 2019 to 2010


Roger Alberto, Zurich / Switzerland
Marcel Mayor, Basel / Switzerland

2018 Martin Suhm, Göttingen
2015 Paul Knochel, Munich
2014 Stefan Matile, Geneva / Switzerland
2012 Joachim Sauer, Berlin
2011 Andreas Pfaltz, Basel / Switzerland
2010 Jürgen Troe, Göttingen

Commission of the Heilbronn - Hückel lecture

Prof. Henrik ZIPSE, Munich (lead)
Prof. Carmen HERRMANN, Hamburg
Prof. Christina THIELE, Darmstadt
Prof. Peter COMBA, Heidelberg
Prof. Franziska SCHOENEBECK, RWTH Aachen

This page has been machine translated. If you have any feedback or comments please feel free to contact us.

last modified: 10.05.2021 14:59 H from